Affairs of the Sun

After living 4 years in the North Cape, 71 degrees above the Equator, I see the sun in a whole new light.  As the expression goes, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”, and after two months without the sun’s appearance, I’m longing for its return.

The days are getting a little brighter and the sun’s reminding me it’s on its way back.  It’s enticing me with its peachy-pink glance.

waiting for the sun's return

In fourteen days, (yes, I’m counting), it will show me it hasn’t abandoned me forever.  It will set skies, houses, hearts on fire.

house on fire

IMG_2311

No matter that its arrival will be accompanied by icy, wailing winds.  I’ll meet it face to face, eyes stinging, cheeks burning, toes aching.

IMG_2393And I will thank it for coming back to me.  I’ll treasure its presence until we part ways again… a distant horizon in November.

 

 

 

 

 

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, North Cape Wildlife, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Affairs of the Sun

  1. Such pure & untouched beauty! Stunning!

  2. mmakynen says:

    Thank you for sharing your world with us, I enjoy your posts and have read through your entire blog. I hope to someday visit your part of the world. I grew up in Northern Canada, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, while not as far north as you, we too experienced some very long nights and 24 hour daylight in the summer. Now I live in Vancouver, British Columbia but can honestly say I miss the North, it seems to seep into your blood.
    Look forward to reading more of your blog.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for stopping by and for your kind comments. I understand that living in the North seeps into your blood. There are so many special experiences – the northern lights, polar nights, midnight sun and rugged weather and terrain. But I bet you had much colder weather in Yellowknife than we do, since the gulf stream warms us up a bit🙂 How cold does it get there? Hope you get a chance to visit the North Cape and thanks again for following this blog!

      • mmakynen says:

        Thank you for your reply! It was fabulous to live up there, the Northern Lights were spectacular….one thing I truly miss. Cold – yeah it gets very cold – I remember many days at -40 Celsius, having to go to work and to school. I know this winter, I have seen on the news that it has been steady -38 for many days. I am now a big wimp, if it gets to be -2….it is cold LOL. Take care and look forward to more posts and beautiful photos.

      • ekhaugli says:

        -40 C is crazy, cold! We can reach up to that temperature with the wind chill factor, but thankfully it’s not very often. Have a great weekend🙂

  3. Sure the Sun is always welcome in such a place. Even when it isn’t absent for such a long time.

  4. Dale and Sue Edstrom says:

    I can understand your longing for the sun to shine. We’ve been having many days in a row of and inversion that makes life a bit dreary. But we’ve seen some sun now and then. When I start to get down, I think of you in the North Cape and say a prayer. It’s a gift to know that the sun WILL rise again above the horizon. God is faithful!

    Miss you and love you! Mom

  5. Hi Erica,
    first I wish you a happy new year 2015 !
    The light in your photos is beautiful. It’s better than in Hamburg. We don’t see the sun either, but it is because we have such bad weather. It’s raining and the sky is grey the whole day😉
    Cheers Angela

    • ekhaugli says:

      Happy New Year to you too, Angela. Hope you get a break from the rainy, grey skies. It’s amazing what a bright, sunny day can do for the soul🙂 I know I can’t wait! Have a wonderful day🙂

  6. allesistgut says:

    Happy New Year 2015 to you and your family. The light is extraordinary. And as Angela wrote. We haven’t much sun her, either because of grey skies. Have a lovely day!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Happy New Year to you as well. I haven’t been blogging so much this past year, but looking forward to the new year and sharing more from up here in the North. The light is beautiful and getting brighter every day. I hope you get a break from your grey skies. WE all need a bit of sunshine now and then. Have a great day as well.

  7. Tom Sieswerda says:

    I’ve missed you’re posts. I would really have a tough time living with no sun. I was sitting out in the sun 21 Dec and New Years day here in the mountains of NE Georgia USA. The canoeing has been great this winter. Keep us posted on you and your family.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Hi Tom. Nice to hear from you and glad you enjoyed the post. There will be more to come. The lack of sun has put me in a bit of a hibernation mode this year – hence the lack of posts🙂 Sitting in the sun sounds wonderful, as well as winter canoeing. Enjoy the season! And Happy New Year.

  8. mlumbiarres says:

    The photo is very nice. How many snow are there?

Leave a Reply

