Saying goodbye to the sun

In less than a month we will be entering the polar night season in the North Cape. Here’s what it looks like at 71˚N at 1:30 pm.

IMG_4314

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Saying goodbye to the sun

  1. Pat says:

    Beautiful, but so glad I’m where we still have equal amounts of day and night. I am intrigued by the far north so appreciate your beautiful images that show me your world.

  2. Hi Erica,
    I love the north, but I am not sure if I could cope with the polar night. It is getting dark here at around 5 pm now and this is already far too early for me😉
    Cheers Angela

  3. time sure does fly! I just reposted this to facebook and clearly remember doing the same thing last year. holy cow!!!

  4. Richard says:

    Wonderful photo but not a lot of snow yet- is that usual for this time of the year?

    • ekhaugli says:

      We have actually had snow for several weeks, and then a storm blew in, with above freezing temperatures, and melted the snow. But today we woke up to everything decked in white again. Typical for this time of year, but by January the temperatures are cold enough the the snow stays.. all the way to May🙂

  5. Maryam says:

    that is amazing….I don’t’ know if I would like that…I have a hard enough time with darkness at 4:30

  6. drawandshoot says:

    That’s a tough thing to say goodbye to!

  7. Extremely serene beauty…🙂

  8. Hard to imagine for a ‘southerner’ like me (@ 53°N)

Leave a Reply

