It’s getting hot up here… 9 Degrees Celsius!

On days like today, those of us who call the North Cape our home, can’t help but smiling.  With the air temperatures around 9 degrees Celsius (48 F) and lots and lots of sun, we are breaking out our short sleeve shirts and shorts.

May 28, 2014, Honningsvåg Harbor

May 28, 2014, Honningsvåg Harbor

And with the midnight sun, well, we’re breaking out the bubbly and making the most of 24/7 daylight.

Midnight sun, North Cape, Nordkapp

Midnight sun, North Cape, Nordkapp

Sunlight at 11 pm

Sunlight at 11 pm

 

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s getting hot up here… 9 Degrees Celsius!

  1. Bless you! Isn’t it wonderful how we humans adapt and compare? For you, I can imagine why +9C is cause for Ts and shorts, while for me, who’s become accustomed to the endless parade of 32s of Sri Lanka, you’ll be amused to know I hauled out the woollies at around 24! Endless sunshine though … champagne is called for, that’s for sure! Will the rhythm of your life change with the sunlight?

    • ekhaugli says:

      I know what you mean about our bodies adapting to the temperatures. I lived in Hawaii for 2 years and wore sweaters as well. As for our daily rhythm, in my family, we are up much later. The kids go to bed later and my husband and I can stay up into the middle of the night talking.

  2. Eric says:

    What is the temperatuur in july there. Than we visit the North cape.

    • ekhaugli says:

      It is difficult to say how warm it will be in July. I think the average temperature is 13 C, but it varies. And if the sun is shining, even if the air temperature isn’t so hight, the warmth of the sun is more intense. Here’s hoping for warm weather and lots of sun in July!

  3. Cindi says:

    So gorgeous!!!!!!!!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks, Cindi. My kids were wearing shorts and sandals today. Not the most normal thing up here. They have what we like to call Finnmark tans: Tan faces and hands, and the rest of them are white as can be🙂

  4. eltonas37 says:

    You have to stop posting envy-inducing blog posts😉

  5. greenlakeblue says:

    I agree with Elton🙂
    I bet the sunshine there has a different spark… a different vibe altogether at this time of the year. I wish I was there!! and with 9 degrees up for grabs one really must make the most of it.
    Enjoy!!

    • ekhaugli says:

      The light is magical this time of year. I should also add that when the air temperature is 9, if we are sitting in the sun, away from the wind, it can be up to 25 C. Today my kids ran under the neighbor’s sprinkler when he was watering his lawn. Making the most of it, for certain!

  6. Maya says:

    We would break out the outdoor grills when it hit 0 degrees or so after a long cold snap (-30 to -50) in Fairbanks. 48 degrees is definitely shorts weather🙂

  7. allesistgut says:

    Yesterday we had only 10 degrees, too.😉 So beautiful shots again. Go’ helg.🙂

  8. Karen says:

    Beautiful and cold, I had no idea you get daylight 24/7 at certain times of the year.

Leave a Reply

