A Norwegian’s idea of Perfect Easter Weather

In Norway, we have an expression that you might be unfamiliar with, depending on where you live in the world…. it’s called “perfect Easter weather” (perfekte påskevær).  We don’t mean green grass, daffodils and tulips, and short sleeves.  We mean this:

North Cape, nordkapp, norway, winter

Snow, sun and little or no wind… perfect weather for Norwegians to enjoy during their week of Easter vacation at their cabins, skiing, snowmobiling and spending time outdoors.

Today’s conditions are what we like to call perfect Easter weather.

IMG_2893

IMG_2891

 

Hope it continues through next week….

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Norwegian’s idea of Perfect Easter Weather

  1. Leya says:

    Looks just wonderful – I understand perfectly what you mean!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Leya. You have the same thing in Sweden as well?? How is Spring where you live now?

      • Leya says:

        I live in the southern part of Sweden, so now we have daffodils. But, I know what you are talking about. Up north it’s the same here.

      • ekhaugli says:

        I wonder if it is a Scandinavian expression? Enjoy your daffodils. I’m longing for a bit of green in the landscape, but will have to be patient for a couple more months. Ha en fin dag.

  2. Tanzalongs says:

    “I’m dreaming of a White Easter” sounds appropriate here.

  3. Dina says:

    Breathtaking, so beautiful!! White easter indeed…🙂

  4. Bridget Perkin says:

    Looks like a beautiful day. Hope you have many more!

  5. It is like winter wonderland. Perfectly.

  6. allesistgut says:

    Eventyrlig.🙂 Ha en fin fin dag.

  7. seekraz says:

    Perfect weather, indeed…and I love your harbor shots, Erica…there’s something about the crispness of the white snow in the background and the bright colors of the boats reflecting on the water…. Very nice.

  8. eltonas37 says:

    What I wouldn’t give to live in Norway. Every time I read your posts I become envious😉

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. I just looked at your beautiful photography. You’d have a blast in Norway taking photos while exploring the area. Thanks for your comment.

      • eltonas37 says:

        Thanks🙂

        I would absolutely love to cycle the Atlantic road one day, with it’s amazing scenery and swooping road bridges. I remember visiting briefly and going to Rjukan during its sun festival and also a trip up to Telemark. I know Snowdonia is beautiful in its own way, but Norway just makes my jaw drop at every turn!

        Seems my blog is taking a turn for cycling related stuff; may need a name change at some point!

        Thank you for the follow🙂

        Elton

      • ekhaugli says:

        You’ll have to follow the Arctic Race of Norway in August. The cycling race will be broadcast in 150+ countries, showcasing the scenery in Northern Norway. You take beautiful photos… looking forward to following your adventures.

      • eltonas37 says:

        I will! Thank you for the nice comments🙂

  9. Enjoy the wry sense of perfect easter weather – taken in degrees of relative geographic location🙂 Your scenes here are gorgeous, the sparkling white snow offset against the blue skies. I guess even the temperature must be inching upwards?

  10. greenlakeblue says:

    Beautiful!! Here in London is not so drastic, but the weather can vary quite a lot from one day to the next one. I wish you a wonderful Easter… no matter the weather🙂

Leave a Reply

