One Step at at Time – Cleaning up the Coast

Two years ago I started a campaign, One Step at a Tme, to rid the North Cape coastlines of trash. At the time of this post that I’m rebloging, I’d collected 140 shoes from the island’s beaches. Now over 1,200 shoes and boots have been collected by myself and many members of the community. In June of this year, I will be opening an art exhibition with art made from these shoes. The goal: Raise awareness about ocean pollution, as well as funds to help rid the pristine North Cape coastline of plastic. I’ll be sharing more about this journey in the months to come, leading up to an art exhibition that’s been 2.5 years in the making.

experiencenorthcape

I’m blessed to live in a very beautiful part of the world – in the town of Honningsvåg on the island of Magerøya in the North Cape of Norway.  One of my favorite things to do is go hiking.  Whether I’m with my family, friends or by myself, a hike always lifts my spirits.

Just as the inspiring nature enriches my life, there’s a harsh reality that meets my eyes every time I’m on a hike – Ocean pollution.  The first time my little girl saw the trash- filled shoreline, she said, “It’s sad here, Mommy.”  And I couldn’t agree more.

trash, ocean pollution, norway

At the beginning of 2012 I posed the question:  Ocean pollution: What’s Your Solution?

ocean pollution, debris on shore, nordkapp, norway

My solution to this gigantic problem is to do what I can to positively impact the environment around me.  I know it won’t eliminate the horrendous amounts of floating plastics swirling in the ocean’s…

View original post 236 more words

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Step at at Time – Cleaning up the Coast

  1. Pingback: Making Art from 1,200 shoes | Once Upon a Dream

  2. Pingback: One Step at a Time | experiencenorthcape

Leave a Reply

