Frozen Harbor and Frosted Windows

When the wind is still, which is not very often, the harbor sometimes freezes over in areas. It doesn’t last long, and the fishing boats sail year-round, but when it does happen, it is a delight to study the ice patterns.  Here are some images from yesterday.

IMG_2305IMG_2287

IMG_2288

IMG_2290

IMG_2295

IMG_2296

IMG_2293

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Frozen Harbor and Frosted Windows

  1. Beautiful photos…I love these patterns as well. (Suzanne)

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you, Suzanne. I just looked at your blog. I liked seeing the photos of the Eiffel tower from different perspectives. I haven’t had the opportunity to visit Paris yet, but it’s on my list. I think you blog will inspire me🙂

      • Thanks. I am glad our blog can inspire you. We have been living in Paris for 18 months now so there are plenty of posts about Paris if you want to explore more of the city…It is indeed a very nice place to visit.

  2. ice patterns are fascinating, aren’t they?

  3. Cindi says:

    We moved from Bergen into our new apartment outside Bergen in March, and the fjord 100 meters below us still had ice on it – I enjoyed watching it break up as spring progressed (but as it was a cold spring, several boats were used also). I was eager to see it freeze this first winter … but aside from a couple patches that formed and then were gone the next morning, it’s been too warm. Your photos are just what I needed! Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

