Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

The sun has shown it’s face above the horizon and the polar nights have come to an end.  Today I tried to get a glimpse of it, but it was hiding behind clouds.  However, that didn’t dampen my spirits – The lit up clouds were enough for me.

IMG_2336

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

  1. Pat says:

    I can only image your elation at coming out of the dark – if only for a brief time each day. I image the minutes added each day are quite a few which gives hope. When we lived in the north I would think, 3 minutes a day isn’t much but that is 20 minutes a week. That gave me courage.🙂 In the mean time you have beautiful like each day. Great photo.

  2. PigLove says:

    Yes absence does make the heart grow fonder. I’m very fond of the sand, sun and palm trees today in 16 degree weather. Brrr – shivers. This piggy needs some warmth! XOXO – Bacon

  3. HansHB says:

    Great photo!
    Flott bilde. Når er mørketida over?
    Er det 21.01 hos dere og eller?

    • ekhaugli says:

      Takk Hans. Ja, naa har solen kommet tilbake… kom den 21.01. Det er fantastisk! Barna vaare synger sanger om solen og er klar til solfest paa skolen og i barnehagen i morgen. Det er en spesielt tid har i byen vaar🙂

  4. drawandshoot says:

    That would be an incredible sensation after all those dark days! Beautiful.
    I just saw this wonderful short film last night, Erica, and it made me think of you:http://vimeo.com/ondemand/northofthesun

  5. dsedst says:

    I checked out the weather channel today and saw that you had about 2 hours of sun above the horizon. Rejoicing with you!

    Mom

  6. allesistgut says:

    So beautiful and warm atmosphere. Ha en riktig fin dag.😉

  7. Det finns inget som motsvarar himlarna i norr/ There is nothing compared to the skies in the north.

  8. This post touched me when I read it. This was on my mother’s birthday and the title says exactly what I felt that day, when we could only speak on the phone, and not hug each other on her birthday. Still, your words are so positive!

    • ekhaugli says:

      It isn’t easy living far away from our loved ones. My parents live in the United States and I’m way up in the North Cape. It is wonderful when we get to see each other face to face🙂 I’m glad you liked the post.

Leave a Reply

