A Winter Walk

 

 

 

20140115_125327

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to A Winter Walk

  1. dexdiawuo says:

    wow wat a great shot!!!!

  2. Stunning!
    I just checked your borealis livecam and see the sun on the horizon. How much daylight do you get now?

    • ekhaugli says:

      It is changing rapidly now. The sun will come back up in a couple of days, and then I think that the amount of extra sunlight increases by 15 minutes a day after that. We have much lighter mornings now, already getting brighter around 9 am and dusk is around 1 pm.

      • Ok, so I’m addicted to your borealis webcam. I visited it again around an hr ago and noticed a group of people out by the big “world” sculpture, and what looked like a tourbus parked at the end of the road! Wan light of course, but light none-the-less! Looks cold but very still! Somehow I expect it always to be mega-windy there!

  3. Mari says:

    Wow! You’re so talented. Look fwd to seeing this landscape and you all today/tomorrow🙂

  4. ohhh, what a nice place!!!!!!!

  5. Meho says:

    What a nice place! Great picture!

  6. PigLove says:

    So isolated and yet so peaceful to the outside world. I love it. XOXO – Bacon

  7. Karolyn Cooper says:

    Beautiful photo.

  8. Gorgeous! Snow is pale, but far from colourless. I do miss it (although I never lived this far up north).

    • ekhaugli says:

      We are entering a beautiful time of year now. The sun is about to greet us again, after 2 months. The light is lovely and the air is freezing. How far North have you lived?

      • I grew up west of Stockholm, so North enough to know short days in winter and light nights in summer, but I never experienced the extreme differences. It seems hard, but also very special. When living in Sweden, I always felt “down” in April, the entire month. Since I moved a bit South (I now live in The Netherlands), I never have that problem.
        I really enjoy seeing your photos and look forward to seeing more!

      • ekhaugli says:

        I just looked at your blog. Your work is beautiful! Do you sell your jewelry online, ship internationally, etc.? I am following you now and know that I will be inspired. I run a gallery here in Honningsvaag… if you are interested, you can check out the two websites. onceuponadreamgallery.wordpress.com and onceuponadream.no.

        As for the darkness and feeling down, I know what you mean. I wasn’t depressed this year, but I was extremely tired and not very motivated. I see now that I know the sun is on its way, my spirits are lifted and I have more energy.

      • No, I don’t sell anything online. I do this alongside my regular job, and I like to have the combination of the two. Although yes, production is slow, and sometimes so many ideas are popping in my head and I know I can not pursue them. Time sort of filters the priorities, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.
        I love both your sites. Wonderful colours, I love the collage pieces. And the driftwood, do you still do that?

      • ekhaugli says:

        Well, if you decided to make a new ring, let me know. I’d love to purchase one. They are beautiful. And thank you for looking at my other blog. Yes, I still work with driftwood, as well as sea glass and porcelain that’s washed up on shore. I love looking for treasures on the coastline.

  9. dsedst says:

    When was the picture taken? After the sun came above the horizon last year? It’s BEAUTIFUL!

  10. drawandshoot says:

    Just breathtaking, Erica!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Karen. It is so beautiful now. The sun will return in a couple of days and the light is changing rapidly. I took this photo with my telephone. I intentionally left my camera at home so I could actually get some exercise. If I’d had my camera I wouldn’t have gotten very far… too many beautiful distractions🙂

  11. luminaetumbrae says:

    WAOUH !🙂 I want to live there ! (with a big fridge and cellar😆 )

Leave a Reply

