A Film to inspire and awe- Gjesværstappan!

Gjesværstappan is one of Norway’s “naturperler”, directly translated, “nature’s pearls”.   This group of islands off the coast of Magerøya in the North Cape, is a natural nature reserve and home to millions of seabirds from the months of April to August/September each year.

Gjesvaer, North Cape, Norway

This past Sunday a documentary was aired which featured this extraordinary part of the world.  Here’s the link to the film.  It is in Norwegian, but the filming of the spectacular wildlife and nature speaks for itself.  I highly recommend taking a peek.

Norske naturperler, Nature’s Pearls (click here to be amazed, inspired, wowed)

077

If you aren’t able to open the link you can click on my post From Puffins to Cormorants.  A little glimse into my famly’s bird safari adventure.  On April 14, of 2013, wehad the privilege of watching 1 million puffins arrive in the North Cape.  That’s right, all on the same day!  Amazing!

So if you’re planning a trip to the North Cape in 2014, put Gjesvær and Gjesværstappan on your “must do” list.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, North Cape Wildlife, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Film to inspire and awe- Gjesværstappan!

  1. kerlund74 says:

    I love the first photo, so filled with calm and peace. Seams to be a wonderful place.

  2. HansHB says:

    Utrolig å se alle lundefuglene!
    Ønsker deg et godt fotonytt år!

  3. allesistgut says:

    Dessverre har NRK ikke rettigheter å vise denne filmen på utlandet.😦 Jeg ønsker deg og familien din en riktig godt nyttår.

  4. Cindi says:

    I’ve enjoyed a couple of the Norske naturperler programs on NRK but hadn’t had time to look for them online – thanks for this post!

  5. Seenorway says:

    I just saw a program focusing on Gjesværstappane on NRK. A remarkable place!
    I have a proposition for you! <you'll find my mail address under 'About' on my blog.
    Please contact me!

  6. Forest So Green says:

    I love your photo of the birds. That would be amazing to see those birds, Annie

  7. drawandshoot says:

    Love these images. The thought of watching all those birds arrive astounds me. What an amazing experience that would be!

  8. You’ve got some great scenery to photograph, and it does seem so serene!

Leave a Reply

