Polar Night Blues

IMG_2182

 

The polar nights are rapidly passing.  The darkest day is only 11 days away.  This photo was taken during the lightest part of the day, around 11 am.  We have about a half-hour of this light.  what do you think?  Not so bad!

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Polar Night Blues

  1. Hi Erica,
    it does look good, but only half an hour. I think I would be tired the whole day😉
    Cheers Angela🙂

  2. Love the warm and cool tones together in this image!

  3. Meho says:

    This is very special. Thanks for sharing this. Good day!

  4. PhotoCory says:

    It’s amazing how can people survive in this kind of environment🙂 I would go crazy and super depressed. I know you told me that you use light lamps every day, but still, I am fascinated by the fact that there is such short time with natural light every day and it’s not even a strong enough🙂
    The photo is very nice to look at, but if I imagine I am in there..I am getting cold😀

    • ekhaugli says:

      It is true that some people get depressed. Our son is only 6 and he is affected by it. He’s not depressed, but he gets grumpy more often than is normal. The good news is that the darkest, shortest day is only 10 days away. As for being cold, it isn’t so bad, thanks to the gulf stream… it has been mostly a little below 0 C. They key is layering and wool!

  5. I have to try to catch this on your borealis webcam link! Thanks for telling us it happens around your 11am. Now I can figure out when to “tune-in”

  6. mlumbiarres says:

    Where are you in this photo

  7. Karolyn Cooper says:

    Do you all go outside to grab the fleeting hour of light? From your photo it looks like everyone is indoors, so maybe not.

  8. Linda says:

    Wonderful photo:) You really have captured the colors of a winter evening, in all its beauty!

  9. Gorgeous ethereal light in this photo. I feel you have communicated the atmosphere of the polar night perfectly.

  10. Leya says:

    Only half an hour? Beautiful light and snow anyway. I think I would have been grumpy too.

  11. allesistgut says:

    It’s really cool. I love this light. And the snow make it even brighter.😉

  12. Allison says:

    Wow, this is crazy! I’m having trouble to adjusting to the darker days in Denmark, but at least we have light from 9am until 4pm. I can’t imagine having only 1/2 an hour of light. It does make for a beautiful photo, though.

    • ekhaugli says:

      It is strange, but I can see that I am more acclimated now, than three years ago, when we moved here. We moved here on the darkest day of the year, and were in complete shock. Felt like jetlag times a thousand🙂

      • Allison says:

        Hah, I can imagine! So it’s not that dark here, but it IS raining almost every day, so even though we have more daylight than you, some days it really doesn’t feel like it.

        Happy Scandinavian Christmas!🙂

  13. drawandshoot says:

    Beautiful light for sure.

  14. What an amazing pic *-*

Leave a Reply

