Magical Arctic Light

This morning we woke to a misty rain falling to the icy ground, creating very slippery roads – ice with a layer of water on top.  Watch out!  I was expecting a gray day and not much daylight since sunrise is at 9:15 am and sunset is at 12:43.

But this is what happened with the low-rising sun shined through the misty rain clouds at 9:45 AM – MAGIC! 004

 

 

Arctic Light, Polar night, Nordkapp007

 

 

008

009

017

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Magical Arctic Light

  1. Pat says:

    These are beautiful. They are worthy of a place on your wall. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

  2. Forest So Green says:

    Your photos are beautiful, Annie

  3. Meho says:

    ouf… Nice pictures but… What is that «thing» in the first one, pointing the sky like a… I mean… You know?

  4. i must confess to being fully fascinated by life above the 60th parallel! Thoroughly enjoying these great pics, too!!

  5. Ajay Kaul says:

    Magical Indeed! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Extraordinary light… and a rainbow; glad it materialised and chased away the grey day.

  7. Richard Rogerson says:

    I have only been following experiencenorthcape for a few months (unfortunatly I only found your blog after a brief visit to Honningsvag last February) but your pictures are a reminder of what a magical place your little bit of the world is.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks for following the blog, Richard. I appreciate it. Hope you had some beautiful light in February- it can be amazing, but we also have strong storms in February. Glad you’re enjoying experience north cape and I agree with you, we live in a little magical place.

  8. sueedstrom2 says:

    Beautiful! What a gift. Glad you had your camera with you.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I almost always have my camera with me🙂 I was in the gallery working on putting things back together after the remodeling and turned around and outside the window it was amazing. Had to stop working and run outside to take some pictures.

  9. Jim says:

    You live in a god damned post card! Amazing! You could probably sell these to your local board of tourism.

  10. Chess says:

    Stunning!

  11. valeriedonat says:

    Oh my gosh- gorgeous! Great, great pictures! Love this blog so much🙂

  12. allesistgut says:

    Magical, indeed! I do love this atmosphere!😉

  13. There is something so special and exhilirating about that special yellowish light one sees after a storm/rain. So special and so transient. So glad you captured it, and the rainbow shot is worthy of a photographic award!

    • ekhaugli says:

      I was thrilled to turn around after taking shots of the horizon and find the rainbow. What a treat. Thanks for your comments and for stopping by – it’s greatly appreciated.

  14. Wow! What an amazing part of the world you live in. I’m fascinated and intrigued by your daylight hours – so different to where we live on the East coast of Australia! I’ve just discovered your blog and love, love. love it! Beautiful photographs and an insiders view of your special place on earth. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

