Skipping Rocks and Throwing Pebbles

skipping rocks, family time, Autumn colors, North Cape

What to do on an amazing Autumn evening in the North Cape:  Have a picnic dinner by the sea, followed by a rock-skipping competition (or throwing pepples if you are so inclined).  Highly recommended!

water reflections

skipping rocks, family time

026

skipping rocks 2

032skipping rocks

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Skipping Rocks and Throwing Pebbles

  1. Andrea says:

    VERY NICE
    BEAUTIFUL DAY
    GREETING(s)from ANDREA:))

  2. Dina says:

    Lucky you, still enjoying such nice temperatures!🙂
    Lovely shots, I can hear the plop…

  3. allesistgut says:

    I like your splish splash photos. Happy day!😀

  4. seekraz says:

    There is something timeless about skipping stones…or throwing pebbles, too, into an inviting piece of water like that. Nice photos, Erica…. Looks like you had a good time.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I think I’m having more fun skipping stones now than when I was a kid. We actually stood on that beach yesterday, throwing rocks for almost 2 hours, until the tide came in. But my son still beat me every time. 🙂

      • seekraz says:

        We’re enjoying the novelty of it, too, I think, when we’re adults and skipping them with our little ones. How nice that you had such a good time. 🙂

  5. dsedst says:

    What a beautiful evening! You certainly have had a blessed summer and fall. Fun to see the kids out enjoying themselves.

    Mom

    On Wed, Sep 11, 2013 at 2:28 AM, experiencenorthcape wrote:

    > ** > ekhaugli posted: ” What to do on an amazing Autumn evening in the North > Cape: Have a picnic dinner by the sea, followed by a rock-skipping > competition (or throwing pepples if you are so inclined). Highly > recommended! “

  6. Pat says:

    These are beautiful. I love taking photos of water and seeing water suspended as you have captured.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Glad you liked the photos. It was fun to take shots with the kids. My son is fascinated with the water suspended in time, and of course he’s ready to go skipping rocks again.🙂

  7. lemanshots says:

    Auf Deinem Blog finde ich immer gute und interessante Bilder! Vielen Dank dafür!

    Folgst Du mir schon auf lemanshots.wordpress.com? Das würde mich freuen….🙂

  8. HansHB says:

    Å kaste flyndre er alltid morsomt!

  9. Great photos! Love skipping stones, when I was a boy we used to try and get them to the far bank of our local river. I see one got nine skips, that’s really good. Love the photograph of the moment of ricochet, splash rising, stone travelling on. Enjoyed this, smile to the face, Autumn creeping in here at 52degrees north also. Kevin

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks, Kevin. My husband is really good at getting the stones to skip far out into the ocean and my son is really getting the hang of skipping them numerous times.. his was the one that bounced 9 times. I’m a bit hit and miss, but I love it. Simple pleasures in life. Enjoy the Autumn colors and thanks for your comment.

  10. mariayarri says:

    Härliga bilder som påminner mig om när jag var yngre … Älskade att kasta sten på detta vis då … Maria🙂

  11. Pingback: Δε μετάνιωσα… | Glarenia's

  12. Madhumitha Venkataraman says:

    Hello,

    Good Day!

    The reason I’m writing is that I would like use a few pictures of the ripples in the water/throwing rocks in the water for personal use ( to add to my child’s PECS communication book ) for my autistic child. I would like to get your permission to do so before that. I appreciate your earliest response. Thank you! Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

