Waiting for the storm

008

There’s an abnormally large number of boats docked in the harbor today.  My uneducated, land-lubber guess is because of the today’s weather forecast that says a polar low, also called arctic hurricane, may touch down today.

On Monday, a polar low hit, and WOW, let me tell you, it was something to be experienced… in the safetey of one’s home.  Ferocious winds, heavy snowfall, zero visability and half- a meter to a meter snow drifts formed almost instantly on the roads.

So maybe that’s why there are so many boats today.. think I need to go over and ask one of the fishermen.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Waiting for the storm

  1. Syeda Maham says:

    This picture seems from some other world as I gaze at it in the sweltering heat of Karachi.Wow.I hope you are safe.🙂

  2. Are you going to go for a stroll in an Arctic hurricane?

    • ekhaugli says:

      I actually had to walk in it with my three kids, 50 meters, out to the car.. and drive in it to get home. But the winds were only around 23 mps then… Not something I want to do again, though.

  3. germanicus84 says:

    Wow, I love this picture!

  4. seekraz says:

    Seems like the proper place to be with such a storm in the forecast…and very striking image, too, Erica.

Leave a Reply

