Painted Water Series

Painted Water Series….Because I’m addicted to these amazing reflections that evoke so many different emotions.  Nature’s abstract paintings.  Some are haunting, others melancholy, others just make me smile.  Happy Saturday, everyone!

046060058048041Boat reflections, norway, north cape

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Nature, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Painted Water Series

  1. Vividhunter says:

    What a great idea for a series. Beautiful photos.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. I look out at the harbor from my studio window. Can’t help but take photos of the amazing refections that change with the time of day and ever-shifting arctic light🙂

  2. I love these and I understand the attraction of the reflected image in water. it’s as if we are looking at nature doing her own artistic word with the already existent image and we need do no more than capture what we are presented with. I’ve tried a few myself, just recording in black and white the masts of an old sailing ship, a replica of the sort of boat that took the Famine Irish to America. The image was taken in New Ross, Co Wexford. http://connellykevin.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/shadows-on-water.jpg?w=960&h=260&crop=1
    Link just might work🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. I agree, nature does all the work and we can just shoot away🙂 The link worked and I loved the photo. Very painterly and the black and white suits it well. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Dina ♥ says:

    Lovely dreamy images. Happy weekend!🙂
    Love Dina

  4. drawandshoot says:

    We have the same addiction. : )
    Water is just so compelling for many reasons. I love the colours and light here – so different than my little creek. Beautiful series, Erica.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I know, Karen. I love your series from the creek. They are all so beautiful and the patterns created by the tree reflections and water currents are fascinating. I’m really enjoying your “Surface” series.

  5. allesistgut says:

    I really love these series of reflections. So very beautiful.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. I really like them too. I’m amazed every day at the beautiful reflections. We’ve had really clear weather, which makes for lovely light and colors.

  6. Lots of shimmering happening in these shots!!

Leave a Reply

