Can you give me away to a Sami family?

“Mommy, I want to be a Sami,” was my six-year old daughter’s wish last week at the dinner table.

“Honey, I’m sorry, but you can’t be. I’m American and Pappa’s Norwegian.”

“Can you give me away then… to a Sami family?”

“Umm, no. But you can learn the language and we can look for some Sami clothes if you want.” That seemed to satisfy her.

The dinner conversation continued with my 5-year old son and 4-year old daughter joiking.

And all of their enthusiasm for the Sami culture is thanks to this energetic and talented man, Mikkel Gaup.

Mikkel Gaup, Perleporten Kulturhus

Mikkel Gaup is a Sami actor who broke into the industry in 1987 in the Oscar-nominated film, Veiviseren, The Pathfinder.  He has an extensive acting background in theater, film and television.  Currently, he can be seen on the tv mini-series, Hjerterått.  (Maybe another reason my daughter wants to be Sami :)).

And before you read any further, I encourage you to watch this music video that was made for the tv series – it’s a mix of Sami joiking, as well as Norwegian and Sami rapping, and it shows some beautiful scenes from the landscape and wildlife in the Finnmark region.  FYI: Out of the 80,000 views this past month, my kids have contributed to about 200 of them (not kidding)…


hjereraat

Mikkel arrived a week before the Sami National Day, and in collaboration with Perleporten Kulturhus, throughout eight days, a 30-minute play and joiking workshops were held for over 500 local preschool and elementary students.  In addition, he held a joiking workshop for adults, which culminated in a mini-concert on Samefokets dag, right after the lasso throwing competition.

It was a week packed with activities, and as my children can attest, Mikkel’s theatrical performance made a strong impression on his audience.  Mikkel has been running this type of program for over four years now,  in schools and at summer camps.

When I asked Mikkel why he decided to start holding these workshops, he said he felt the curriculum in the Norwegian schools fell short when it came to teaching about the Sami culture.  He wanted to find a way to share about the rich heritage of the Sami people.

In the play he performed, the story told about a young couple who were reindeer herders, and elaborated on the importance of reindeer in the Sami way of life.  The importance of joiks was also emphasized.  My youngest daughter’s favorite was the joik lullaby sung to lull the small baby to sleep.

reindeer

Like most indigenous people groups, the Sami people have experienced oppression and racism.  Education is key in stopping such destructive attitudes.  Mikkel’s experience with racism has been more subtle.  He remembers feeling looked down upon for wearing his kofta , the Sami national costume, when he was confirmed.

In addition to  teaching children about the traditional way of life, Mikkel believes there are many positive results from participating in joiking workshops.  It’s social and inclusive, participants have to dare to step out of their comfort zone, and it’s a healthy way to express oneself.  He believes joiking can build children’s confidence.

Mikkel’s energetic spirit is contagious. He even challenged me to create a painting for the Sami National Day. Here’s the result – Ancient Paths (70×90 Acrylic).045

So now I’m looking forward to the next time Mikkel’s in town.  What will be our topic of conversation at the dinner table?

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Intriguing People, Nature, North Cape Wildlife, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can you give me away to a Sami family?

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this special video. I have watched it several times. No wonder your kids loved it. It is amazing. Really grabbed my attention. You are very lucky to live in such a special place in the world.

    • ekhaugli says:

      You are very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed it. We feel very blessed to live up here, and it is a wonderful place to raise our family. Do you have Scandinavian background? I see that you live in Australia, but you paint rose maling… I’m curious? 🙂

      • Yes I do have Scandinavian background. Mostly Danish, tiny bit of Norwegian and some Swedish, and my choice for holiday destination is always Scandinavia, as I’ve got many friends in the three Scandi countries. I feel a deep connection with Denmark and also love northern Sweden. I fell in love with Rosemaling when I visited friends in Norway.and am probably one of about a dozen people who paint in this style, in Australia!! I am sure my kids would have loved to grow up and experience your world when they were younger.

  2. Reblogged this on Something to Ponder About and commented:
    Does anyone else feel so affected by this video or is it just me? Amazing.

  3. allesistgut says:

    Thank you for sharing the sweet storie about your kids and this phantastic video. It is really wonderful. I love this clear and treeless areas. Ha en fortsatt god helg!🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      I like the video as well, so I don’t mind that my children like to watch it all the time. In fact, tonight was the last episode in the series and we missed it… So one of the first things on the agenda tomorrow is to watch the last episode on the computer🙂 En fin sondag til deg og dine.

Leave a Reply

