Ready or not, here it comes! Winter in the North Cape

When I looked out the window this morning I have to confess that my first thoughts were NOT, “Yippee!  Snow!”

While my kids ran around the house, excitedly putting on winter parkas and  shouting, “We can make snow caves, and throw snow balls and go sledding and skiing and… and … and…” I was thinking about 7 months of winter and wondering if I’m really ready for it.  I’m not sure I am ready for it, but when I came to work today, I was reminded of how beautiful this season is…. with magical light that changes with each passing day, drawing us quickly into the polar night season.

So ready or not, here it comes  – Winter has said hello to the North Cape!

Honnignsvåg, North Cape, Winter

Honningsvåg Harbor, North Cape, Norway, winter

Honningsvåg Harbor, NOrth cape, NOrway

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ready or not, here it comes! Winter in the North Cape

  1. allesistgut says:

    I saw that the winter came this morning via the Live Webcam at Honningsvåg. You shot very nice photos. It looks all very peaceful. Have a beautiful time!

  2. Karen says:

    Beautiful pictures Erica! I’m also looking at the photograph that I bought from your gallery this summer….which was also a snowy day scene. Enjoy watching the kids have fun in it!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you, Karen. The photograph you have is from March on a beautiful crisp day. Feels like it wasn’t so long ago🙂 The kids are thrilled and I like it, but not a big fan of driving in it🙂

  3. Is that early or late? Here at 52degs North snow is expected on high hound as arctic air moves south! I feel it’s early for here but have to check

    • ekhaugli says:

      Hi Kevin. My photos from the first snow fall last year are dated Oct. 7, but it wasn’t as much as this. But typically, the weather will warm up a bit and and the snow will disappear. It’s not until sometime in December that it stays for the rest of the season. But driving when the temperature hovers around zero is treacherous…. at least for me🙂

  4. seekraz says:

    Whatever else it might be, I think it’s beautiful! 🙂

  5. Jim says:

    Winter has come early for us as well, here in Gardnerville NV. By the way, where in states are you from originally?

  6. diane rima says:

    Love you my sweet friend. Would sure enjoy sitting with you and sharing a very lonnnnnnng cup of coffee, talking the morning away, and sharing friendship. I miss you. (at the same time, so thrilled you are living your dream ~~ you and your sweet family)

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Diane. I would love a long cup of coffee with you. And what an adventure you are all on! I’m so impressed with you and your boldness to go the road less travelled. Love you and miss you!

  7. drawandshoot says:

    What a lovely hello! It’s always a but bittersweet when the seasons shift. I’m looking forward to more of those landscapes in magical light, Erica. You’re off to a perfect start!

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    I have an adult daughter who still can’t wait for the snow to come. Beautiful photos – I hope the winter goes easy on you. 😉

Leave a Reply

