Rocks Rock

heart rocks

Breivika, North Cape, Norway

The island I live on is called Magerøya.  Directly translated, it means “skinny island” and if you visit, you’ll understand why.  Not much grows here.  But what we lack in the area of lush vegetation, we make up for in stones, rocks, pebbles and more rocks.  After living here almost two years, I’ve become quite smitten with all these beautiful stones. Here are some of the many rock photos I’ve taken over this past summer and autumn.

rocks, north cape, norway

rocks, north cape, norway

småkjæftan rocks,north cape, norway

Småkjæftan, North Cape, Norway

småkjæftan, north cape, norway

Kirkeporten, North Cape, Norway

Kirkeporten, North Cape, Norway

rocks, north cape, norway

Duksfjord, North Cape, Norway

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Nature, North Cape Wildlife, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rocks Rock

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I love these, the third image particularly.🙂

  2. seekraz says:

    Beautiful rocks, Erica…seems they speak of a violent birth…harsh times…and now they are full of wonder…. Very nice. 🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Scott. Great way to describe them. I completely agree. I’m glad I live here during the “time of wonder”season, rather than the “violent birth” period🙂

      • seekraz says:

        You’re welcome…and yes, that violent birth period might have been fascinating, but a bit dangerous too, especially for our frail species…. I’d rather wonder, too. 🙂

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Those are beautifully seductive rocks.:)

  4. Elly K. says:

    The pictures of the rocks are wonderful, Erica! It shows how varied nature can be. Rocks: I really like them very much. There are so many kinds of rocks and stones and all the various shapes and colours they have, makes me always search for a a few special stones which I can take with me to my home. And there I can look at them as long as I want and think back at the place where I have found them.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Elly. I do the same thing. On our vacation we explored some ancient Sami writings, and then I had to look on the beach to find rocks that remind me of them so I can have a little display in our house. Then I can always look at them and be reminded of our lovely time there. Nice to hear you do the same thing🙂

  5. allesistgut says:

    These rocks are awesome and so beautiful in its structure and colour. Thanks for sharing.
    Have a nice day!🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. These are just a few of the many photos I’ve taken this summer. I’m so fascinated by all the different varieties of rock located on one island. Amazing!

  6. alecdermen says:

    Oh what a great collection of rocks, boulders and bunches of aligned minerals. I would love to have them in my pocket. Sadly i’m no giant, but my love for the simple stone can’t be shattered.

    Thank you for sharing that beautiful pictures

    • ekhaugli says:

      From one rock lover to another, I know exactly what you mean. And although I’m no giant, my pockets normally are filled with pebbles and heart-shaped stones when I come home from one of my hikes… I can’t help myself :- Glad you enjoyed the photos and thanks for leaving a comment.

  7. Lynne Ayers says:

    I love rocks, I love them in my garden and all those rocks that ancestors cleared off our land to farm it … I’ve carted a good load back from the hedgerows into my garden. Very interesting rock formations you have there.

Leave a Reply

