From Rome, With Love

Last summer, not long after my husband and I came home from a vacation to Rome, we hiked to Knivskjellodden – the northernmost point of Europe.  With the splendor of Rome fresh on our minds, we couldn’t help but smile when we came upon a friendly greeting from some Italian hikers:

I hope they enjoyed the North Cape as much as we enjoyed Rome.  In fact, we loved it so much, we’re headed there tomorrow.  And as a tribute to two of my favorite places in the world, I’d like to share some photos that explore some of the similarities and differences between Rome and the North Cape.

So without further ado, To Nordkapp, From Rome With Love!

And for those of you trivia buffs that like to collect random facts:  If you turned Norway upside down, Nordkapp would reach down to Rome.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Facts and Stories, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to From Rome, With Love

  1. wow–there is such variety and contrasting interest in these very different geographic images!

  2. Mari Husby says:

    I LOVE the post !! You are so creative. Enjoy Rome heaps!!

  3. Beautiful! I love how you capture specific moments and the unique perspective. 🙂

  4. allesistgut says:

    What a gorgeous series of similarities! Have a really good time in Rome!🙂

  5. drawandshoot says:

    Great post Erica! Very creative; and a lovely set of images.
    Enjoy Rome. =)

  6. love the shot of the frozen green bike!!

    • ekhaugli says:

      I love that bike as well. In fact, before I took the shot, I talked with the old fisherman that rides it everyday down to his boat. I don’t know how he doesn’t crash on the icy roads with his 1960’s bike. Amazing.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Because I love your posts about Nordkapp, I nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award: http://thenorthwardroute.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/awards/. Have a nice day, and please keep posting beautiful pictures of Norway🙂
    Jennifer

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you Jennifer. I am honored. I’ve been out of town for three weeks, and just saw your message now. Thank you so much and hope you are enjoying your travels!

  8. liked, with love, from rome😉

  9. Teje says:

    I love your blog! Your photos are fantastic and you have lovely ideas to connect them! Great post! x Teje

Leave a Reply

