Dreaming of Kirkeporten: An Easy Hike with a Spectacular View

A layer of snow still covers the ground.  In some areas, like our backyard, there’s a 2-meter high snow wall, sculpted by the strong winter winds.  In others, grass blades are uncovered and brown soil is in clear sight.  There is definitely a hint of Spring in the air.  However, I don’t know if I should trust it.  March is the month that usually receives the most snow, so there’s no telling what tomorrow’s weather may bring.

But I’ll take the hint of Spring and let it remind me of all the wonderful things awaiting us when warmer days do arrive:  Fishing trips, mountain hikes, reindeer visits, berry picking and much, much more.  One of my favorite things is hiking on the island of Magerøya.

An easy hike I  recommend to anyone traveling to the North Cape is the trail to Kirkeporten (The Church Gate).  The trail begins in the world’s northernmost fishing village, Skarsvåg, and is only 2,5 km long.  Awaiting hikers, is a view of the North Cape Plateau as well as fascinating rock formations.

I had the pleasure of hiking to Kirkeporten in September, with six giggling gals.  I love being a tour guide and the blustery wind and rain fit well with our day of experiencing North Cape.

If you haven’t learned this Norwegian expression yet, it’s a good mantra to have when you visit this country:  “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad/poor clothing.”   That being said, my camera didn’t have the appropriate “clothing”, thus, beware of some foggy, soggy pictures.

Hiking to Kirkeporten, Nordkapp, Norway

People write their names with rocks on the stone formations.

And here’s a view of the entire rock formation, just try to imagine it without the foggy, wet camera lens glow…

Standing under the gate, there is a view of the North Cape Plateau and the North Cape Horn, if the weather is cooperating.

View of the North Cape Horn from Kirkeporten

That does it!  The first day that there’s no danger of slip-sliding down the slope, I’m heading to Kirkeporten.  Who wants to join me?

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Hiking Trails, North Cape Wildlife, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dreaming of Kirkeporten: An Easy Hike with a Spectacular View

  1. allesistgut says:

    Wonderfully post. I missed to hike to Kirkeporten as I was at the camping site in Skarsvåg. Imagine how could I miss that. Maybe a little bit tired by driving five days from Germany to Northcape. But I took a photo by the Nordkapphorn from the road Northcape – Skarsvåg. Beautiful and I see you had a lot of fun even it was raining.🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      Oh, you were so close! But I understand about being tired, and there are only so many things one can see on a vacation. So, hopefully you can come back again and do the hike. And yes, we had a lovely time. Thank you!

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Oh, those rock formations! I so love rocks! 🙂
    Really beautiful images Erica, thank you so much for posting these. What a stunning country.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you, Karen. I love rocks too. Good thing, since the island is covered with them. I’m looking forward to going back to Kirkeporten on a clear day and taking some more shots. I didn’t take very many on this last trip because I was afraid I’d do damage to my camera.

  3. Alex Autin says:

    I love the mantra! ‘There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad/poor clothing.’
    And I agree with it completely!

    This seems a wonderful place to hike. : )

    • ekhaugli says:

      It was actually the first expression I learned when I moved to Norway, and I’ve applied it to many an occasion🙂 And yes, it’s a beautiful place to hike. Thanks for taking time to comment, Alex. I appreciate it.

  4. Fia says:

    “Det finns inga dåliga väder, bara dåliga kläder”. Jag fullkomligt hatade när läraren använde det för att tvinga ut oss på rast i ösregn när jag gick i skolan.😛

    http://bitterfia.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: …things I LOVED! Week March 19th through March 25th « …things I LOVE!

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    First-time visitor following Alex’s recommendation. Beautiful images from an intriguing place. Thanks for sharing the beauty.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I’m very grateful for Alex’s recommendation and appreciate you stopping by. I’m fortunate to live in a beautiful place and it’s a pleasure to share it with others.

  7. xartpunkartx says:

    wonderful pictures ! my last visit in norway is years ago, I miss the beauty of the country.

  8. Elly K. says:

    It’s wonderful to see these pictures of the Kirkeporten! It reminds me of our own hike to this astonishing rock formation with its almost unreal view on the North Cape plateau, the Horn and the Barents Sea. That day it was cold and stormy, but there was a very clear view on this magnificent part of nature. At home we have a picture of the Kirkeporten hanging on our wall, with me standing as a tiny human being on top of this rock formation and on the background the view on the North Cape Plateau and the sea. The picture shows what an immense piece of nature this is in comparison with us people living on this earth. Yes, the hike to the Kirkeporten was a great experience!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Yes, I love Kirkeporten. I think the rock formation is absolutely amazing and I like it better there than on the top of the plateau. I’ve been there several times this summer, in much nicer weather than the one featured in this post. I’m planning on doing a collage picture of it in the summer. Can’t wait. And I know what you mean, having a person standing in the picture really shows how huge the rock formation is. Thanks for taking time to read and comment on my blog. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

