Photos for the Day: Abandoned

Wind-whipped windows from the abandoned boarding school in Sarnes, Norway.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Photos for the Day: Abandoned

  1. I feel sad for this pic. It looks like a broken person. Good work!

    • ekhaugli says:

      A agree. The photos are sad, and I think they reflect the feelings of some of the children who lived in the boarding school. Some of them must have felt abandoned, as they had to move away from their families when they were as young as 7 years old. But I also think the photos show a will to survive, as the curtains “cling” to the window frame.

  2. Alex Autin says:

    I absolutely love windows, and these are exceptionally good!

  3. Sallyann says:

    These windows are great, but I love the curtains.🙂

  4. Anna Hergert says:

    I love portals of all kinds – these windows are great! You have captured color, texture, line – these cracks could tell some intriguing stories if they could talk…

    • ekhaugli says:

      I agree. I love taking photos of windows. They hold so many untold stories. I think these windows hold a lot of heart ache. Children had to move away from their families when they were 7 years old to attend school. My mother’s heart just breaks when I think about it.

      • Anna Hergert says:

        Taking children away from their families to put them into residential schools sounds so similar to the stories of Canadian Aboriginals – so much heartache and sad memories… it shaped generations – and not in a good way!

  5. allesistgut says:

    Pretty light and I love how the curtains wraps around the window frames.
    Have a nice start to the week.

  6. knotrune says:

    Those are great! Do you mind your pictures being pinned on Pinterest? I’d like to pin them, but I shan’t if you don’t want me to.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you and no, I don’t mind. It’s nice to hear that you want to share the pictures with other people. That’s the best compliment one can receive🙂

  7. knotrune says:

    Thanks, I put them on my ‘abandoned’ board http://pinterest.com/cinnamonpebble/abandoned/ although I could also have put them on Windows, doors etc, or Scandophilia!🙂

  8. I can almost see a little face peering out of each window. Beautiful light and colors.

  9. xartpunkartx says:

    love the atmosphere of abandoned buildings. and these windows and walls have seen so many people come and go….

Leave a Reply

