The Arctic ABC’s

If you are considering visiting the North Cape, you might be enticed by the Arctic ABC’s:

A.           Auruora borealis, come twirl under a dancing sky.

B            Blueberries, hand picked of course.

C            Cloud berry, try them, you might just like ‘em!

D           Dare to dip your toes in the ice-cold sea.

E            Eggs, seagull that is.  Try them hard-boiled with a Mackøl (beer).  It’s a local treat.

F            Film Festival, Nordkapp’s very own each September (Nordkapp Film Festival)

G            Growing season, with an average of 50 days per year, you won’t find any towering trees on this island.

H            Honningsvåg Church, the only building left standing after WWII

I            Indiginious people of the Arctic, The Sami People

J            Jam session with Moillrock, a talented local rock band:

K            King Crab, Yummy, yum, yum in my tummy, tum, tum!

L            Lutefisk, Watch out!  It’s as addictive as sushi!

M            Midnight Sun for two months of the Year.

N            Northernmost Point of Europe, Knivesjkellodden:

O            Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop.  Stop on by and say “Hello!”

P            Polar Bears and Penguins, NO, they don’t live here

Q            Quick summer, average high in July is 13C (55F)

R            Reindeer, YES, they DO live here and my 5 year old can teach you how to say reindeer poop in three languages.

S            Seventy-one degrees North of the Equator

T            Tourists, 300,000 annual visitors.

U            Underwater North Cape Tunnel connects the mainland to Magerøya, 6,9 km long and reaches 212 meter  (696 feet) below sea level

V            Vikings!

W            Wind Chill Factor, download the app!

X            Xtra pair of long underwear recommended!

Y            Yoik, traditional song of the Sami:

Z            Zig-zag trails that lead to spectacular sights:

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Hiking Trails, North Cape Wildlife, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Arctic ABC’s

  1. anaslense says:

    Love your pictures!

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Erica, thank you so much for including me on your list, I’m honoured! 🙂

    I love your alphabet of information! Very clever!
    Karen

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you and you’re welcome. I know you have many blog followers, but maybe a few people who read Experience North Cape haven’t discovered your beautiful photography yet. It’s a delight to send them your way🙂

  3. George Weaver says:

    Now, that was the absolute best response to an ABC award I ever read! The song of the Sami was beautiful. A real treat. I didn’t know any of these things. I remembered the story of the church and loved the seagull eggs when I first saw them. I can imagine how good they are. We eat wild duck eggs here. They are really better than hen eggs. You are a walking tourist ad with that delightful photograph holding the king crab. Thanks for giving us a mini-history lesson. Take Vitamin D! You don’t get enough sunlight. 🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks George. Glad the information was interesting. And yes, I should take Vitamin D. I’m horrible at taking my vitamins. But now the sun’s come back and in the last 6 weeks we’ve gone from the no sun to 10 hours of it.

  4. knotrune says:

    Mmmm, cloudberry liqueur is one of my favourites🙂 Joiking is cool, I have a CD of it somewhere, from Sweden, one of the joiks is about reindeer and has a most impressive reindeer noise as part of it! Speaking of reindeer, I want to know reindeer poo in 3 languages now! Please…?🙂

    I did spot the deliberate mistake – penguins are not arctic creatures!😉

    • ekhaugli says:

      I’ll have to try cloudberry liqueur. I bet it is good. And Joiking (yoiking) is a great to listen to when driving up to the plateau. It sets the mood🙂. Reindeer poop, bæsj and skit (sheet). And the deliberate mistake… because more than one person has asked me🙂
      Thank you for your comments! Have a great Sunday!

  5. Fia says:

    Åh, nu blev jag sugen på hjortron (cloudberries på svenska). Rockbandet var bra. Gillar riffet som lätt fastnade i huvudet. Kan ni säga “reindeer poop” på svenska? Renbajs!🙂

    http://bitterfia.wordpress.com

    • ekhaugli says:

      Hjortron er multebær på norsk. Det hadde jeg aldri gjettet… og reinbæsj… det er neste det samme. Artig med språk. Tror jeg forstår deg bedre når vi skriver. Jeg synes det er ganske vanskelig å forstå svensk når jeg høre det.

      • Fia says:

        Jag håller med dig. Det är mycket lättare att förstå text än att följa med när någon pratar. Särskilt med alla olika dialekter. Men i text är norska, svenska och danska nästan detsamma.🙂

  6. rastaphoto says:

    Thank you humbly🙂

    Cloud berries, that is a nice and suitable name for those little gems. Thanks for teaching it to me.Hope all is well with your gallery🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      You are welcome. And all is going well with the gallery. Lots to get finished before I open, but it’s really coming together. Thanks for asking.

  7. Alex Autin says:

    Congrats….and I LOVED your ABCs…..with PICS!

  8. What a cool idea! I should do a Photography ABC post

  9. edrevets says:

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful beautiful pictures—-I want to be there. I always dreamed of Norway being beautiful.

  10. Cindi says:

    Clever, enlightening, entertaining.

    And now I want to learn how to say “reindeer poop” in three languages.

  11. Fantastic and educational! Isn’t blogging the BEST way of learning about different areas of the world?

Leave a Reply

