Ice is Nice – As Long as You Keep Your Mittens On

In the beginning of February when we had record low temperatures and the salt water spray froze as soon as it hit the air, I was reminded why I tell my children not to take off their mittens.   My fingers paid the price, but it was worth it to venture out and take photos of rocks, grass and the coastline, covered in a sheet of ice.  If you didn’t see my first post with a dock encased in ice, you can click here B-b-b-brrrr! Beautiful! And B-B-B-BRRR!.

Hope you enjoy them!

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ice is Nice – As Long as You Keep Your Mittens On

  1. Great photos….ice makes me want to puke though!

  2. anaslense says:

    Beautiful!

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Oh these are fantastic Erica! I would of been right out there freezing my fingers off with you! 🙂
    The light is gorgeous, wow!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous pictures! So cool that you live in Honningsvåg! I haven’t been to the very north of Norway but maybe I will before I leave.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Hope you’re enjoying your time in Norway. Are you by chance a college student at St. Olaf College in Northfield, MN? My best friend lives there and graduated from St. Olaf. She also was in Olso for 6 months. If you do have time and can afford a trip up here before you travel home, I recommend it. Let me know and you’ll have an American that can give you a tour😉

  5. Alex Autin says:

    Wow….very impressive!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you! I like your photos as well. The bright red flowers were a beautiful sight when we still have months of winter ahead of us.

      • Alex Autin says:

        Thanks….I am SO not a photographer, it’s something I have fun playing around with….so when I see the work of true photographers I’m completely blown away…as I was looking at your work!

      • ekhaugli says:

        I like to play around too – definitely not a photographer but I love to take photos. I need to take a class and learn all the technical stuff, but I’m fortunate to have beautiful surroundings to try my hand at it. By the way, I’m following your blog now, thanks to George Weaver🙂

  6. Alex Autin says:

    Same! And she is amazing…
    : )

Leave a Reply

