A Fisherman and His Bike

A lone bicycle has caught my attention throughout this past year.  I often spot it resting in the same place, leaning on the top of a staircase that leads to one of the local boat docks.  This faithful companion waits for its fisherman, in blustery winds, rain-drenched weekdays and on spectacular sunny days that one recalls in the midst of a frigid winter.

It caught my attention the first time I saw it and I’ve been curious about its owner ever since.  Last week I had the fortune of meeting the man who rides this trusted 1960’s bike back and forth from his house, come rain or shine.  OR snow.

I had a delightful conversation with him.  I think he was as curious about the crazy lady taking pictures in the freezing cold as I was in him.   I tried to get a picture of his beautiful blue eyes that perfectly matched his scarf, but he was a bit shy when this out-going American asked him for a “photo shoot”🙂  I’m very thankful he said I could take his photo, and even more delighted that he took the time to chat with me.  Hoping there will be more conversations to come.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Facts and Stories, Intriguing People, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Fisherman and His Bike

  1. Stevie D says:

    A great post which illustrates perfectly ordinary life, in a place which is anything but ordinary.

  2. Alexandra says:

    I really like the character in his face. Can you tell us a little bit more about the man? What did you chat about? I’m really curious.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you Alexandra. I asked him for permission to take his photo, but I didn’t ask about sharing his story. So, I’ll have to ask him the next time I meet him. We’ll see what he says🙂

Leave a Reply

