Freezing Sunshine and Arctic Ice

Today was one of the coldest days we’ve had this winter.  According to my little windchill chart, it was somewhere between -35 and -40C.  I wasn’t planning on going out and taking photos today, but when I looked outside my window, I couldn’t resist.

So, here’s what it looks like when the salty mist freezes as soon as it hits the air.  The wind was blowing between 17-20 mps and although I only took off my gloves for a couple of minutes, three hours later my fingers are still hurting.  But I don’t regret going out.  The view was worth it.

Sea mist on a freezing February day, Honningsvåg Norway

Sun and Ice, Honningsvåg, Norway

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Facts and Stories, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Freezing Sunshine and Arctic Ice

  1. mjsturtevant says:

    Wow! Stunning photos!!! I was born in Norway and I am so glad to see a blog about a foreigner living in our country. I hope you are loving every moment of it!!!

  2. Anita Mac says:

    Wow – just gorgeous! Congratulations on such stunning photos, even more so because it is so cold!

  3. sueedstrom2 says:

    Your pictures are hauntingly beautiful.

  4. Fia says:

    Underbara bilder! Helt fantastiska!
    http://bitterfia.wordpress.com

  5. Aldercat says:

    Those are beautiful! Nice work and thank you for posting!

  6. KatElders61 says:

    OMG Erica, what a brave soul! My father took on a trip once where he told me not to take the gloves of because the wind could freeze my skin, but I think it may be a little colder there, lol.

    Yes, quite worth it, truly beautiful, especially since there was no lasting damage to the all important digits😉

    Kathleen

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Kathleen. It’s now seven hours after I took the shots and I can still feel it in my fingertips. Pretty scary, actually. It wouldn’t take long for someone to do serious damage to themselves if they didn’t have the proper clothing on. But, yes, it was worth it. It was a beautiful day!

  7. Misslisted says:

    wow, so glad you posted these, they are so beautiful.

  8. Stevie D says:

    I think these are some of your very best photos to date.Truly evocative of your beautiful environment.

  9. Norway makes Winter look good. Love your photos

  10. kurt says:

    Wow, stunning pics!

  11. fivereflections says:

    “I’m Erica from America
    Living in Norway, just about nowhere.”

    I can’t stop singing this in the shower🙂

    awesome colors – awesome composition – Awesome wordpress too

    David in Maine USA

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you Dave. Now you’ve put that song back in my head, I’ve been singing “Fish heads, fish heads, roly poly fish heads” since my last post. Much better😀
      And thank you so much for your kind comments. Your encouraging words have given me a nice start to a gray day.

Leave a Reply

