The North Cape Film – a Magnificent Glimpse into an Arctic World

Nordkapp Globe, Nordkapp Plateau

In September 2010, my husband and I were deciding if moving to the North Cape was the right thing for our family.  In the process, we did a lot of googling and found a film that captured our attention.  It’s fourteen minutes long, so if you’re really interested in our Arctic world, I highly recommend it.  But even if you only watch the beginning, I think you’ll be impressed by this magnificent landscape.  If you visit Nordkapphallen (North Cape Hall Visitor’s Center) you can watch this in a panoramic theater.  But until then, click and Enjoy!

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, North Cape Wildlife, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The North Cape Film – a Magnificent Glimpse into an Arctic World

  1. CM says:

    Does the water stay open all winter long?

  2. Elin says:

    A magical landscape – I hope the beauty helps lighten the darker times of year of you. My dream is to live 1 year above the circle – but the dark months scare me a little.🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment. As for the polar nights, the colors that fill the sky during that time are beautiful. Amazing blue colors. So, I think that helps the time go quickly. I’m sure you’d be inspired to take a lot of photos. I enjoyed your photos from Vermont. I really liked the one with the tree standing in front of the painted trees.

  3. Stevie D says:

    Beautiful film. In a strange way I quite envy you living in such a pristeen environment although,I couldn’t live there myself.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Hi Stevie D! When my husband first mentioned moving to Nordkapp, I said, “NO Way!” But funny how things change. I obviously changed my mind and now I’m “in love” with this amazing world. But I do understand it’s not for everyone. At least you made the trek here and have experienced some of what Nordkapp has to offer. Where’s your next adventure taking you?

      • Stevie D says:

        I’m now planning the ‘Grand Tour’ of Europe, kicking off in April. Before that though,I’ll be posting about my most recent trips to Wales, France and, of course, Norway,a country I’ve visited 8 times over the years. But there’s always more to see.

      • ekhaugli says:

        Looking forward to seeing the photos and reading about the Grand Tour!

Leave a Reply

