Freshly Pressed: YooHoo, Yippee, and a YeeHah!

If I could do a triple back flip, I would.  But to avoid any broken bones and smashed furniture, a somersault and a “YooHoo, Yippee and YeeHah!” will have to suffice.  I’ve been “Freshly Pressed” and I’m beyond thrilled and very grateful.  Not just because I have more traffic on my site (although that’s a HUGE bonus), but because more people can see how spectacular it is in the North Cape of Norway – the very reason I created Experience North Cape.  And hopefully someday, some of them will travel here and experience first hand the spectacular nature, intriguing people and rich heritage that Nordkapp has to offer.

Winter sky, Nordkapp Plateau

The Nordkapp Plateau is the largest tourist attraction in the area, drawing 250,000-300,000 people each year.  Our family has lived here one year and we’ve had 17 visitors make the journey to our home, and of course, we wouldn’t be good hosts if we didn’t take them up to the 1,007 foot steep cliff that overlooks the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans.

Winter tourists, Nordkapp Plateau

Winter, Nordkapp Globe

71º North of the Equator

Children of the Earth Monument, Nordkapp Plateau

Children of the Earth Monument, Nordkapp Plateau

September Sunset, Globe, Nordkapp, Norway

It’s a privilege to meet people on their pilgrimage to the Plateau.  I met two inspiring men on two very different journeys, back in August.  If you’re interested, please read Crossing Paths.

Gunnstein Fretheim, Swing a shot against Cancer

Heiko Korsika winning his bet, Nordkapp Plateau

Windy weather at the Plateau

View of Knivskjellodden from Norkdapp Plateau

The ever-shifting weather at Nordkapp Plateau

Who wants to visit in 2012?

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Intriguing People, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Freshly Pressed: YooHoo, Yippee, and a YeeHah!

  1. essievisser says:

    me me me me me.
    Would love to meet you again at the north of Europe🙂

  2. What I am happy to meet you, Erika! This is my second Norwegian journey. The first is http://arcticdream.me/. And like you I’ve found Winston and his family through “Freshly Pressed” 
    Happy New Year 2012 and let me to follow your beautiful life!
    Norway is my dream forever. Thanks a lot for so interesting stories and wonderful photos!
    Yours with all my heart, Ai TomBounDin

  3. Hoo Sze Ling says:

    Congrats on being FP!

  4. Amy Ingraham says:

    I love you, Erica! Great work! You’re amazing!!!

  5. Stulang Laut says:

    the snow moutain is amazing!!

  6. Mari says:

    me me me too!! In 2012 there is increased likelihood that a Moldenser turns up on your doorstep…if you’re still there🙂

  7. Hi,

    I wrote a few lines earlier but my internet crashed!

    Anyway, I am so glad that WordPress directed me towards your blog.

    Something is pulling me north, has been since I was a child and soon I will give in to that pull.

    I look forward to reading your future posts and delving into your archives.

    Kind regards,

    Steve Garnett

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you Steve. I appreciate your kind comment and hope you find a lot of interesting reads on the blog. I try to provide a good mix or photos, facts, history, etc. And I do hope that you make a journey here sometime. You won’t be disappointed. Erica

  8. Congrats on getting FP!

    Personally I love visiting your blog for all the wonderful pictures! I’ve always been in love with snow and cold weather, but living in the southern United States, I don’t get to experience much of it except for maybe 1-2 months out of the year. Plus, it has always been a dream of mine to visit some part of Europe like the tip of Norway or the Scottish Isles (etc). So seeing all of these wonderful pictures and reading your posts is always a delight!

    -Austin;
    A Daily Photo Journal

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for your comment, Austin. I’m glad you liked the pictures and hope you do have a chance to visit the tip of Norway. I’ve also always wanted to visit the Scottish Isles. It’s a much quicker flight now than when I lived in the States, so hopefully it won’t be long before we make the trip. Looking forward to following your blog and being inspired by your daily photos, as well as seeing shots from a warmer part of the world. Erica🙂

  9. Yay! Congrats! I saw your post on FP and was like, “Hey! I know her!”

    I know I said it to you before but I am so glad I found your blog. I love your photos! I love hearing about other places in the world.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you Christin. Glad that we can connect, even if we live in different parts of the world. Good job on your daily blogging goals. Hope that you get to see mountains in person some day soon!

  10. Congrats for being freshly pressed. Very nice website with amazing pics. I just took out someone paddling the other day from Norway. Interesting people.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Hey Carolina Mike! Nice nickname. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I checked out your blog and like your logo and the fact that you’re combining your outdoor adventures and artwork. I’m also an artist and am in the process of opening a gallery and gift shop (hopefully in February). Most of my artwork is inspired by my surroundings, the dramatic weather, fantastic light and seaside daily life.

      And if you’re really into kayaking, you might want to check out coming here in the summer. You can go sea kayaking and get an amazing view of the North Cape Plateau from the ocean.
      😉 Erica

  11. I like NORWAY,congratulation for this fotos….its fantastic.

Leave a Reply

