A Year in the North Cape

It’s official.  We’ve lived one year in the North Cape of Norway… one year and two weeks to be exact.  We’ve experienced polar nights and the midnight sun.  Northern lights, reindeer munching shrubs in our yard, and gale force winds that scare the you-know-what out of me (Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wind).

I’ve used four hours to shovel my car out of the garage (Lessons in Patience), hiked to the top of Europe, and started the process of opening a gallery (Before, After and Before).  It’s been a rich year as my family and I have started experiencing North Cape. 

Here’s a little journey through 2011 in photos.  Hope they give you a glimpse of how beautiful it is a 71º North.

January skies

A child's dream (January 2011)

Nordvågen, February 2011

North Cape Plateau, February 2011

"No Parking" March 2011

Sunny and Snow (April 2011)

Melting snow (April 2011)

Walk on the beach (May 2011)

Spring's here - sea gull eggs (May 2011)

And the reindeer have arrived (May 2011)

Honningsvå Harbor, May 2011

Reindeer in the yard, June 2011

Blooming flowers (June 2011)

Almost summer, Sarnes June 2011

Småskjæftan, July 2011Gjesvær July 2011

Blueberry Picking in August 2011

View of Nordkapp from Knivskjellodden, August 2011

Nordkapp Plateau, September 2011

September Fishing 2011

October 2011

Boat reflections, October 2011

Polar nights begin, November 2011

Honningvåg Harbor, November 2011

Boat reflection, polar night, December 2011

Honningsvåg Kirke, Christmas 2011

Looking forward to an exciting year as we continue to Experience North Cape!

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Hiking Trails, North Cape Wildlife, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

231 Responses to A Year in the North Cape

  1. Really, such a beautiful place. Happy New Year.

  2. sueedstrom2 says:

    Beautiful! What a full year!

  3. Amazing! I wish I had taken pictures every month of the year last year

  4. Cathy says:

    What an amazing journey you had. Great🙂

  5. Wow — absolutely stunning pictures! I’ve never seen seagull eggs … how cool are those? And the picture of your child’s reaction to the snow — priceless!
    🙂

  6. Nella says:

    I live in a completely different environment, in Cape Town, at the bottom of Africa. Your photos are truly beautiful, I would love to get up there one day to experience something so different from what I know. Here’s it really hot today, Table Mountain looks beautiful but there are wild fires burning in the wind. It rains a lot in our winters, but we never see snow – well, sometimes on the far away mountain ranges.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I hope to travel to Cape Town one day. I agree it’s nice to see something completely different than what we are used to. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  7. Absolutely gorgeous photos. What a beautiful year you’ve had🙂

  8. Jory (Sandy) says:

    Wonderful blog! Kudos!

  9. sefaliwo says:

    I think that beach is absolutely beautiful🙂

  10. That is so beautiful, I had always wanted to visit Norway and now I am more certain than ever.
    Very picturesque, Keep photographing🙂

    Faraz

  11. Great post!🙂 Thank you for sharing! … following your blog.

  12. Dounia says:

    Really wonderful shots – it looks like an incredibly beautiful place. Thanks so much for sharing!

  13. Bodhimoments says:

    what a beautiful place to live in. Yesterday my favourite radio programme host mentioned North Cape. she has just come back from a holiday there. SHe recommended it, but I was not sure till I saw these photos. I want to go there! Thanks for sharing

  14. Amit says:

    the photos are really excellent.I guess I could have been more lucky to be in Norway, but I think I wont be able to withstand the winter there.

  15. What a beautiful place. Thanks for sharing it.
    I bet your kids will have the most amazing memories of it all.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you and your welcome. I’m so grateful my kids can go out the front door and choose whether they will go down to the sea to pick shells and rocks or go up the mountain for a hiking or fishing trip. Living so close to such beautiful nature is a blessing for our entire family. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  16. dhb001 says:

    This is really a beautiful place. Enjoy it.

  17. secletic says:

    Lovely photos and I love the snow but I don’t think I could cope with the limited daylight. Happy New Year.

  18. Message in a Bottle Hunter says:

    Lovely and inspiring. I hope to see this territory with my own eyes some day!

  19. rmv says:

    i have friends in sweden. they say sweden and norway don’t like each other because of events during world war II. i can’t remember what you did, or what you didn’t do, or what they did or didn’t that you shoulda didn’t or did, but mighta couldn’ta done. did. didly. right? i know.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I’m not sure all the reasons, but Norway was under Swedish rule from 1814-1905 as a result of the Treaty of Kiel. And as for during WWII, I’ve heard that German troops were allowed to go through Sweden and cross the border into Norway, and thus creating some tension between the two countries. Thanks for stopping by.

  20. valentinedee says:

    Fantastic pictures. Seriously amazing. Wow. IT looks so cold — brrrrr — yet, so quaint and gorgeous in summer.

    val
    http://valentinedefrancis.wordpress.com

  21. Erica, you have a very cool blog and amazing pictures to boot!

  22. Carlie Chew says:

    What gorgeous pictures! I love the pictures of the reindeer.

  23. The Hook says:

    I hate snow with ever fiber of my being, but your shots are awesome and haertwarming!

  24. Rae says:

    Wow, your year of pictures are really inspiring!

  25. senseihowie says:

    Some Beautiful Photos, I wish I had Even A Quarter Of That Beauty Where I Live.

  26. ingridstrand says:

    It seems like you have had a wonderful year here in Norway! I hope you will like this year as well.
    I haven’t been to the north yet. But me and a friend is planning on to take a roadtrip this spring or summer. And now after seen your pictures I’m really looking forward to it.

    Virkelig flotte bilder🙂 (A little norwegian for you)

    • ekhaugli says:

      I’m looking forward to this year as well. Lots to experience and discover. I would recommend you and your friend coming in the summer. In July you can see the midnight sun and the weather tends to be a bit more stable. This past summer was amazing. God tur og kos dere!

  27. Wow beautiful pictures.

  28. Gorgeous photos!
    My great grandparents and ancestors are from Norway, and I have yet to see it – your photos just inspire me more to get there one day!🙂

  29. Wow, the views and scenes in your photos are stunning! Simply beautiful🙂

  30. Fia says:

    I don’t know how much Norweigan or Swedish you know, but I’ll give it a try anyway: Jättefina bilder! Ska bevaka din blogg. Hälsningar från Sverige!🙂

  31. Loved that you captured reindeer – awesome pic! Thanks for sharing & Congrats on being FP!

  32. Tricia says:

    Breathtakingly, beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.

  33. J.C.V. says:

    Breath taking views, I really like the one of the Plateau.

  34. Your pics are gorgeous! Can’t wait to explore your blog a bit more. What kind of camera do you use?

  35. I love Norway! Your pictures are great, looks like you all had a snowy Christmas.🙂

  36. Bright colours, white snow, clean clean air – Herlig!

  37. Antek says:

    Świetna wyprawa! Super fotografie! Zazdroszczę widoków, które zapierają dech. Cudnie. Bardzo podoba mi się “Polar nights begin, November 2011” Super

  38. Autumn is amazing around your area… such beautiful pictures, by the way. I am originally from Scandinavia myself and I am used to the long harsh winters… but even I envy your amazing midnight sun….

    • ekhaugli says:

      Yes, the midnight sun is wonderful and here we have it for 2 months. And although Autumn is short, the colors are spectacular. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  39. just discovered your blog – what a journey, and some beautiful photographs.

  40. Those are amazingly beautiful photos!

  41. shil says:

    Very beautifully captured the beauty of the place especially the reindeer and the Nordkapp Plateau photo.

  42. Very lovely pictures! I enjoy looking at the photos of the snow. Very beautiful!

  43. kurt says:

    Excellent captures! The dramatic seasonal changes in Norway make it a remarkable place to photograph.

  44. starlight says:

    i love how you take photos every month of the year and as such capture the magical transformation of the season. love your postcardlike photos.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I take photos all the time. There are so many inspiring subjects, but I thought it would be nice to give a year in review via photos. Glad I did! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I appreciate it.

  45. nella32000 says:

    Wonderful photographs😀

  46. Olivia says:

    What a beautiful place to live. Im jealous 🙂

  47. Angelene @Languages Of Art says:

    Oh my goodness, that is amazing.

  48. millodello says:

    Snow isn’t new. Beautiful winter landscapes are not new. You have done both of theses well. But cold has a certain hue that you have captured. I have only seen it before with my naked eye. I think you did it with your spirit as much as your camera. Good job.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for your kind comment. I guess it helps to have “fallen in love” with the place. Then hopefully one’s passion for their subject shines through. Thanks for stopping by.

  49. Great shots! My husband’s extended family is from Bergen.

  50. Evan B says:

    Lovely group of shots you’ve got going on here!

    I’m rather curious though, why does that reindeer appear to be turquoise?

  51. bikecarlos says:

    increible lugar, felicidades las fotos excelentes….

  52. gardenerat60 says:

    Living in the Tropics, a peep into northern hemisphere is awesome. The reindeer line is so beautiful.

  53. Brilliant pics…. U seem to had a wonderful experience living that up north.

  54. Katie says:

    Wonderful pictures! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  55. bwhite21 says:

    Exquisite. Would make a nice calendar. What brought you to this part of the world?

  56. Love these images! Beautifully captured.

  57. Joe Labriola says:

    Cold and beautiful! Very nice quality.

  58. Rose says:

    Absolutely breath-taking! That place is amazing, thank you for sharing your year with us.

  59. midazortega says:

    very awesome…unfortunately I can’t enjoy it directly because I live in tropical country🙂

  60. Sam says:

    Stunning photos! Thank you for sharing.

  61. Rosy says:

    Beautiful photographs of Norway….you capture the complete year with changes of weather. Its amazing.

  62. I love your all photographs. Thanks for sharing wonderful photos.

  63. Beautiful. Sounds like an amazing journey you had.🙂

  64. I’m determined to visit North Cape one day, your pictures have really bought my interest back in North Cape. Thank you🙂

  65. Reminds me of my happy year in Tromsø! Jealous!

  66. Mina Mahrous says:

    Amazing pictures…definitely a great experience u had there! would want to try living off in somewhere like northern norway for sometime! i bet u learned alot just from daily routine there🙂

    • ekhaugli says:

      THank you.. and I get to continue the experience… I’ve lived in Norway for 9 years and the North Cape for 1 year, with no plans of moving. It’s incredible here!

  67. Beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing!

  68. Thank you for sharing this with us really enjoyed the pics

  69. kstepstogo says:

    Even though its winter here now, the blazing heat of the hot North Texas sun in summer is not so far away that I cannot help but envy you. This place has its beauty too, but wow. Those are some awesome pictures, and I hope for your continued success.

  70. Stulang Laut says:

    I love North Cape of Norway

  71. T-MOF says:

    You’re a good photographer.

  72. equine rugs says:

    Those cars are almost lost in that snow lol!

  73. Michele LMS says:

    Enjoyed your year in review in photos, and rundown on your North Cape adventure! . . . Especially liked the picture of the reindeer in your yard! What a scenic backdrop!

    http://arabianmusings.wordpress.com/

  74. WOW! Thank you soooooooo much for sharing! Your pictures are breathtaking!

    Norway has always been a country of fascination, especially with all its greenery!

    I LOVE your reindeer photo with the mountains in the background:)

  75. nxero says:

    What a great blog, and i discovered it just today. I Simply love Norway and the scandinavian countries, it must be great to live there… thanks a lot for the pics, I do miss the places! Happy new year!

  76. Norway looks absolutely gorgeous. It must be hard not to live there and always be in a state of awe.

    • ekhaugli says:

      I really appreciate living in a place that is surrounded by such beautiful nature. Honestly, I think everyday I have a moment of being in awe. Hope you get the opportunity to visit Norway someday. Thank you for leaving a comment and hope you come back again.

  77. westcork2011 says:

    Wow! and I thought our year in deepest West Cork was going to be remote.
    Love your photos sounds like you had fun.
    Regards
    Brian

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks. We’ve been having fun and are looking forward to 2012 and all it has to bring. I’m going to check out your blog and find out more about West Cork. Thanks for stopping by.

  78. Wow what a story!
    Thank you for sharing =]

  79. MJ says:

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Fantastic pictures!
    Greetings from Chile.

  80. Wow. Great photos. I don’t like cold but after seeing your shots I am tempted to make a journey to the north.

  81. Such a wonderful and interesting blog. Pity that I haven’t noticed it earlier. Stunning pictures, and greatly written text. I started to read your earlier entries right away!

  82. Beautiful pictures! I especially love the one portraying the two children sitting side by side.
    So cute! Great blog and congratulations on getting FP! Hope to see you on mine soon!
    http://littleexplorer.wordpress.com/

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I did check out your blog and am following it now. Interesting to read that you come from a bilingual family, just like my children do now. Hopefully they will have a love for language, travel and experiencing other cultures. What kind of artwork do you do?

      • Thanks for following my blog! I’m following yours too now!😉
        Unfortunately, although I love art, I have sort of abandoned everything art-related (music, painting, drawing…) since starting university a few years ago. The only thing I’ve continued doing is to write but I never really have time to write much. I love reading and travelling, as you can see on my blog.

        Being “almost a barrister” (!), my life is pretty much taken over by everything law-related so I enjoy blogging to keep up with other interests.What nationalities do your children have? Being bilingual has always helped me a lot although, once two languages have been learnt, it requires some effort to keep up with two languages without forgetting one or the other!

  83. gaycarboys says:

    fabulous pics. It’s always wonderful to live life vicariously to others. I’m unlikely to visit but the views look fantastic.

  84. mikebehere says:

    Wow, wish I had your creative flare with a camera, some amazing photos there. I’ve recently decided to move to another country (Germany) and have decided to write a blog about it. I think your blog will feed my insomnia as I’m now going to have a nosey around to see what I can expect. Best wishes!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for your kind comment. That will be exciting to move to Germany and a great idea to start a blog about it. It’s always interesting to see a country through another’s eyes, especially a foreigner’s perspective. Best of luck to you!

  85. kazza7 says:

    These pics are just amazing! Thank you so much for sharing with all of us🙂

  86. KatElders61 says:

    Being a native of Florida, USA, these pictures are stunning. I’ve lived in Germany while active duty in the Air Force and that was a year and a day of wonder.
    Seeing the fishing picture made me wonder what kind of fish might be caught. I use to fish on similar boats once.
    It also made me want to do some serious knitting during the “closed in” periods. I have discovered a love of hand knitting and especially wool socks, hats, scarves and sweaters in places of worthy weather.
    Being back home these days makes me long for the snow.
    I will be looking to see more of your spectactular pictures, thank you for posting
    them. Great idea too.

  87. ekhaugli says:

    Thank you for taking time to leave a comment. The fish that are hanging in the boat are cod. And as for knitting, I also go into a knitting frenzy in the fall. It’s a great time to sit, bundled up in the living room while the wind howls outside. I hope you stop by again. Enjoy your sun in Florida!

  88. Each photo makes you want to celebrate life. Beautiful in every way. Have a blessed New Year…

  89. loustar02 says:

    It looks and sounds amazing. I’m so glad I clicked on your blog – wish I was there!

  90. Paragraph Film Reviews says:

    Some brilliant pictures there, out of interest, what lens did you use for the majority? Looks like a 50mm?

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. My camera is a Canon 550D and the lens I used on most of the photos is a zoom lens 18-135mm. Taking photos is a hobby of mine and I have a lot to learn. My real job is as an artist – I’m opening a gallery in the next month or so. But I’m hoping to go deeper into photography in 2012 as well. Thanks for stopping by.

  91. Slamdunk says:

    Wow, looks like and amazing experience. Excellent photos and thanks for sharing.

  92. Chaks says:

    Love your post and photos, simply amazing

  93. Oh wow, snow and reindeers… breathtaking. where is Santa?

  94. Norway is a beautiful country ! really Nice Pictures !

  95. Imperio says:

    I like the small flower holding frozen crystals of water in its center. What a brave, little, beautiful thing. All your photos speak of a life where the ordinary seems so beautiful. I say seem, because who knows, maybe reindeers in your backyard are a beautiful sight until they eat all your garden vegetables. What is it like to wake up and have those mountains, lake and sky crisp and alive all around you? I grew up in Mexico City and haven’t traveled much. Mostly I know concrete and ancient stones.

    myhappyhats.wordpress.com

    • ekhaugli says:

      I like the flower a lot as well. I think your remarks describe life here. The ordinary is beautiful. I don’t think there’s a day that goes by that I don’t have a “wow” moment when I look at my surroundings. I feel very blessed to live here. As for reindeer, I’m always thrilled when I see them, but the many of the people who have lived here all their lives think they are irritating. And of course, it isn’t fun when they eat your freshly planted flowers and poop in your yard😉, I’m sure Mexico City is an adventure in itself with many stories to tell. I’m looking forward to reading your blog. Thank you for stopping by.

  96. arjungabriel says:

    2011 was really colorful for you. There are some breathtaking photos. I am very sure 2012 will be more colorful and bright for you. thanks for sharing this wonderful images.
    http://arjungabriel.wordpress.com/
    Harish

  97. How lovely…I need to add this place to my travels!

  98. ekhaugli says:

    Yes you do! You won’t regret it😉

  99. You have done an excellent job, great photography. Your yearlong effort is really inspiring for us. Thanks:)

  100. I love places that are mostly untouched by humanity. The peace, the clarity, the beauty of it just brings us back to our primal states, before we knew how to speak a language, to communicate and how to manufacture products. Norway looks like a beautiful place, thank you for bringing it to my attention. I’ll be sure to go visit the country.

    Liked and Followed. Beautiful pictures and I’d love to see more.

    TheAmazingJoLuCo
    http://inexplicablyinsane.com/insanity/

  101. Misslisted says:

    Enjoyed looking at your pics! Thanks!

  102. yeahiloveit says:

    Nice post!
    Can we use couple photos for our site http://yeahiloveit.com ?

  103. Stevie D says:

    A really great post.

  104. Your photos are exquisite and I’m intrigued enough to learn much more about you…thank you for the opportunity to explore Norway! Kathleen

  105. fivereflections says:

    i hope all the friends that follow me visit here to see such wonderful photographs – you live in a very beautiful space.

    David in Maine USA

  106. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information
    you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information.
    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  107. ekhaugli says:

    Reblogged this on experiencenorthcape and commented:

    A walk down memory lane… we have lived in the North Cape for 3 years now. After our first year, I posted this blog and was thrilled when it was featured on WP. It gives you a glimpse of the North Cape from January to December. Enjoy

  108. allesistgut says:

    Wow, what a great series!!! I really love the photos. And the light in all your photos is magical, like the North of Norway is. Ha en kjempefin ettermiddag.😉

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you. I just received a book from my husband that was written by and Iclandic author. The book is called “Heaven and Hell”.. will have to check on the name of the author. Have you heard of it? After I read it, I’ll let you know if I recommend it to someone who loves Iceland🙂

  109. Sandra says:

    I discovered your weblog a few weeks ago and I really like it. I have a great love for Scandinavia and like to travel one day to the North Cape. It looks wonderful over there!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for following the blog. I am glad you enjoy it. Are you from the Netherlands? We have many visitors from there. I hope you have the chance to visit someday. It is a beautiful part of the world.

      • Sandra says:

        Yes, I’m from the Netherlands indeed.

        I have heard from al the Dutch people, who travel to the North Cape. It’s one of the place you should have seen once in your life by most of them. If they love the country or not. Most of the time, they go ove there to tell friend and family: ‘I was on the North Cape!’ But hey, everyone has his or her own motives to visit and that’s OK.

        And I hope so, too🙂

  110. Cindi says:

    So glad you reblogged this. I’m in love with my part of Norway, but cannot WAIT to experience your part! For now, these images will have to be enough.

Leave a Reply

