An American Speaking Norwegian with an American Accent

They say that the best way to master a language is when one is a child.  Then all the vowel sounds and intonations develop naturally.  My kids get a free ticket to Bilingual Land.  They will speak “American” American and “Norwegian” Norwegian.  Unlike their mother who speaks Norwegian with an American accent.

I’ve practiced pronouncing the sounds of the extra three Norwegian letters until my jaws start cramping, but no matter how hard try, I just don’t get it right.  And diphthongs, don’t even go there.  My last name contains one, and when my 5-year old daughter whispers to her classmates, “She’s not Norwegian.”, I get the hint.

But I give it my best, laying perfectionism to the side, and I’m thankful that at an adult age I managed to learn a foreign language.  Actually, I’ve liked to think I sounded more Norwegian than other Americans speaking Norwegian.  But this past week I had to face the truth.  Good-bye ego trip.

I was interviewed by the local radio station regarding the opening of my gallery (see pictures here:  Before, After and Before.)   And guess what?  I sound like an American!  Imagine that.  Anyway, if you’re interested in hearing what it sounds like when an girl from the potato state gives Norwegian her best shot, here’s the link (Radio Nordkapp).  Just click on the phrase that says “Hør hva Haugli kan fortelle ” (that’s the last name I can’t pronounce correctly).  And here’s the man I share that last name with… no wonder I’ve been living here for almost 10 years!

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Facts and Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An American Speaking Norwegian with an American Accent

  1. The Hook says:

    Great title! Nice shot, too!

  2. Rebekah says:

    Would have loved to listen, but I couldn’t. A box popped up to download some file.
    Anyway, it would have been real interesting. I’m Swedish, so I have no problems pronouncing Haugli, but as of eight years, I live in Canada. No problems there … it’s all English, but I lived in Quebec City for five of these years. I’m ashamed to say that I never learned French. Partly, I blame it on age … I was fifty when I moved.

    It’s a gorgeous blog you have here! This area, I’ve always wanted to visit … Kirkenes too.

    Hats off to you, and your beautiful photography!!!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Don’t know why it didn’t work, but thanks for stopping by and taking time to look through my blog. I appreciate your kind comments and hope you get to visit Nordkapp and Kirkenes.

      Do you have opportunities to speak Swedish? Og leser du og forstår norsk? Best wishes to you and hope you have a wonderful 2012

      • Rebekah says:

        no opportunities to speak Swedish here, but I read and write it every day here on the computer, of course🙂
        Jag läser och förstår Norska … det mesta åtminstone [that was in Swedish], I understand most Norwegian..

  3. knotrune says:

    I could never get the difference between y and u – mouldy midges! I lived in Oslo for 6 months and still miss it🙂 Glad I found your blog.

  4. Great photo and what an interesting blog. I am following from Ann Arbor, Michigan where it is not nearly as cold but on some days it feels like it.

  5. Pingback: Once Upon a Dream Gallery Radio Interview | Once Upon a Dream

Leave a Reply

