Hip, Hip, Hurray for the Winter Solstice!

Growing up in Idaho, I knew what the winter solstice was, but really didn’t care about it.  December came and went and the shortest day of the year passed by unnoticed.  But when you live in the arctic, the winter solstice is a big deal, at least in my Erica-from-America-living-in-Nordkapp world.  I guess it all comes down to a mental game and I know I’ve survived.  AND the following day will be just a tad bight brighter.

According to Wikipedia, this year, the Earth’s axial tilt was farthest away from the sun at 5:30 AM, December 21st.  Some of the locals say it’s tomorrow.  Either way, I’m thrilled.  Although I don’t have time to throw a party since I’m up to my eyeballs in Christmas present wrapping, I do have a little something to honor this very special day.

Here’s a photo of a painting I recently did called “Here Comes the Sun”, inspired by the sun coming back in January.

Here Comes the Sun, Acrylic, Mixed Media

And honestly, if you’ve lived without sun for over 2 months, I’m pretty sure you’ll want to twirl, hop, skip, jump or at least tap your foot.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hip, Hip, Hurray for the Winter Solstice!

  1. sueedstrom2 says:

    Good attitude! The glass is half full and “here comes the sun”

  2. You’re a hardier soul than I am. I didn’t even want to stay in New York, where I grew up, but moved south to get away from the cold. Here in Texas I can do nature photography almost the whole year round, though of course I can’t get a lot of ice and snow pictures the way you can.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  3. tonja says:

    I like this a lot! I wish I could come on down to the shop and buy it.

  4. The Hook says:

    I couldn’t live without Mr. Sun for two days, never mind two months!

  5. Fia says:

    I live in Uppsala (close to Stockholm) and I just hate that the sun sets at 15. I can’t imagine how hard it must be living without the sun for such a long time as 2 months! You must be tired all the time during the winter. Btw, what is worst: No sun in the winter or sun 24/7 in the summer?

    • ekhaugli says:

      I love the midnight sun, but the polar nights create amazing blue colors in the sky. But I am extremely tired and when the sun comes back I’ll be very happy. Maybe we appreciate it more, because it’s gone for 2 months. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

