The Wrath of the “DARK TIME”

Ten days have passed since my last post.  My days have been filled with working in my gallery and I’m looking forward to sharing photos soon.  But in the evenings, when I normally blog,  I’ve been hit by the wrath of the “Dark Time”!  That’s the direct translation of the Norwegian word, “mørketid”.  Doesn’t sound quite as romantic or exotic as “polar night”, does it?

And guess what?  Right now, “mørketid” is much more fitting than Polar Night.  The lack of sun is not making me depressed, although it does have that effect on some people.  However, this “dark time” is just that… DARK and I am therefore very TIRED!  In the morning, when my alarm goes off, I feel like I have jet lag times 1,000 and I need someone to peel me out of the bed with a spatula.   And dark circles, we don’t even want to go there.

The good news is that the darkest day is only 13 days away, and with all the holiday activities, I’m sure time will fly.

Here are a few photos from the “Dark Time”.  These were actually taken 8 days ago, when it was much lighter outside.   Being in my zombie-state, I haven’t been venturing out to take many pictures.

Honningsvåg Harbor, Polar Night, 10 AM

Honningsvåg Harbor, Polar Night, 10 AM, Nov. 29, 2011

Christmas tree in Honningsvåg's round-about

The photo of the Christmas tree, placed in our token round-about, was taken at midday.  Check out the special blue color of the sky.  Amazing!  But still dark.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Wrath of the “DARK TIME”

  1. Wow! Those are amazing! You make Dark time look very good

  2. sueedstrom2 says:

    Beautiful! But I can identify with wanting to stay in bed when it’s still dark!

  3. ah makes me miss it! it get’s pitch black here at about 4:30 now. sun sets at 3:30. so, not so bad… we actually get to see the sun… when it’s not raining that is!! but i miss those dark days in the north of norway! i only experienced about a month of it mind you before christmas and then we left for outreach… but still!! LOVE IT! i remember being exhausted and ready for bed at 3 in the afternoon….

Leave a Reply

