I Believe the Children Are Our Future

Looking out the window of my art studio each day, I watch fishermen anchor their boats at the pier while seagulls glide through the air and perch on the neighboring boat houses.  Gazing to the left of my office, I can see a statue, called “Vind” (Wind) which was erected in September of this year.

I attended the unveiling ceremony with my 2.5 year old daughter and my mother-in-law.  The event was held during the Nordkapp Film Festival (which I”ll write more about in a later post).  The ceremony was kicked off with a parade.

Parde, unveiling ceremony, Fremtiden Statue

And since it was a windy, chilly day, we went indoors to hear the speeches from the mayor and the sculptors, as well as some songs that were performed in honor of the special day.

scuptors of "Vind", Odin Øistad and Lene Jerner

Odin Øistad and Lene Jerner are a couple that also happen to both be sculptors.  They created “Vind” together, and it is the first of three statues, and thirty reliefs, that will be erected in Honningsvåg, along the street called “Sjøgata” (The same street as my studio, am I lucky or what?)

Unveiling of "Vind", Honningvåg, Norway

“Vind” represents the future and is carved out of a large granite rock that was taken from an area near the town of Gjesvær, on Magerøya.  One of the local women who grew up in Honningsvåg after the Second World War was chosen to help unveil the statue, as well as three teenage girls.

Unveiling of the statue, "Vind"

These four women brought a special element to the entire ceremony.  First, a lady who’s generation helped build the future of Honningsvåg.  Secondly, three teenagers who face the future while having also unfortunately experienced tragedy at young ages.  Our local community has lost three youth in less than a year, and the news of the latest death was on everyone’s minds, as it happened just two days prior to the statue’s unveiling.

And as we watched these four women remove the cloak from the statue, I couldn’t help thinking of the futures that were brutally taken away from 69 teenagers on July 22, 2011, in the Utøya Massacre.  Personally, I think in the face of an uncertain future, the “wind” we  need to carry us forward is hope.  A hope that we can make a difference.  A hope in the goodness of other people.  A hope that we can create a future for our children and our children’s children.

Statue, "Vind"

“Vind” (Wind), which represents the future, is made in the fashion of figureheads which were placed on the prow of sailing ships during the 16h and 19th centuries.  These figureheads were often considered good luck, and that they guarded ship from storms, dangerous winds, rocks and sickness.

Statue "Vind"

 On a lighter note, the statue is a bit phallic in nature and has been given some choice nicknames by the locals.  I’ll let you guess.   I’m not sure that’s what the artists intended, but it makes sense.   Man + Woman = Children and in the famous words of the infamous Whitney Houston, “I believe the children our our future.”

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Arts and Culture, Facts and Stories, Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Believe the Children Are Our Future

  1. Matt George says:

    Beautiful commentary for the photos of the sculpture. Nice work…

  2. ekhaugli says:

    Thank you, Matt. I appreciate your kind comment. Great photos from France! Your students are lucky to have a gifted photography teacher.

  3. I stumbled across your blog and really enjoyed your writing and your beautiful photography. The photos of the abandoned fishery were really amazing and I enjoyed your sculpture as well. I hope living with such beauty can make up for living without seeing the sun until January. I don’t think I could manage.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your comment. And I do think the beautiful surroundings help with the lack of sun, as well as a lot of activities, especially planned between now and Christmas – gives people something to look forward to😉

      I enjoyed your post about Thanksgiving. Made my mouth water reading about all the food preparations! As a cross-cultural family, we are trying to figure out how to integrate it into our Norwegian-American family. We didn’t manage it this year. It isn’t so easy when we don’t have the days off… we don’t make it a priority. But we are thinking that next year we’ll celebrate the day on the Saturday following Thanksgiving. And, like you, we want to eat what is locally raised and grown. Which means no turkey and pumpkin pie. Instead we’ll have reindeer steak and blueberry pie. If we live in the States in the future, we’ll make turkey.

  4. Elly K. says:

    Sorry, Erica, but here I am again. Sometimes I want to react to something you have written because I can identify myself with the subjects you write about.
    Speaking about the future, now and then I think about the future of my children too. My husband and I are in luck to have two wonderful grown-up daughters and also a lovely, five years old grandson who is our little ray of sunshine in our lifes. Of course we are worried about their future when we see all the terrible things that are happening in the world, but fortunately there are as well many beautiful things and lots of love on this planet too. There are still people who don’t only care for and take care of each other but also try to save earths splendid nature and try to make this world a better place to live in. My hope is that there will be an increasing number of people that will join hands to make life worth living for everyone on this planet. And maybe it won’t happen today or tomorrow, but some day, when we show our children and their children the possibilities how they can change the world and their future for the better…

    • ekhaugli says:

      Nice to hear from you, Elly. Yes, I agree with you. WE have to try an make a difference for your immediate family and friends, but also think globally. I think your statement is beautiful and I couldn’t agree more ..”My hope is that there will be an increasing number of people that will join hands to make life worth living for everyone on this planet.” Thanks for taking time to write. I appreciate it and look forward to getting to know you more via wordpress🙂

Leave a Reply

