The Sun Goes Down and the Colors Come Out

Monday was the first day that the sun didn’t peek above the horizon.  We still have a couple of hours of twilight and it won’t be pitch dark until sometime in December.  Here’s what it looks like when the sun doesn’t come up:

Polar Night, Twilight, North Cape, Norway

Polar NIght, Twilight, 12:30 PM

Picnic Table, Pink light, North Cape, Norway

Silhouette of abandoned fishing plant, Norway, 1:30 PM

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Sun Goes Down and the Colors Come Out

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks. Sounds like you are also living in a world of storms and shorter days. I’ve become a weather geek since I moved to the North Cape. In the winter, my favorite app is calculating the wind chill factor😉 Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it.

  1. rastaphoto says:

    I really like this:-) I have never been so far north but I hope to go some summer. I thought just 4 hours of daylight is tough in the winter!
    As for the wind chill, my mother used to say: Det finns inget dåligt väder, bara dåliga kläder😉

  2. sueedstrom2 says:

    Those photos are BEAUTIFUL. They help me understand a little more about the sun not rising above the horizon….so, it’s NOT 24 hour dark ALL DURING ALL OF THE WINTER!

  3. Diane Rima says:

    Erica, these photos are beautiful………….thanks for posting. You are amazing and dazzling as a photographer, writer, illustrator, aritist, mommy, wife…..friend. (just to name a few)

  4. Justin says:

    Makes me cold just looking at it. I’ll bet no one will be using that picnic table for a while.

    Beautiful shots, as always.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks Justin. I appreciate your comment. Yes, it was freezing that day, especially with the wind, and that picnic table will soon be covered in snow. BUT, it is beautiful😉

      I really liked your post about blogging. I’ve been thinking about this statement you wrote: “Funny, isn’t it, how commenting compels us to take up conversations with random strangers? Then, there is that permanent record of the exchange that anyone can come back to at any time, possibly even years later. I imagine that nothing in history compares with this form of communication. It enables a wide range of people to cover a wide range of subjects over a long period of time. I don’t know what to make of it. The scheme is too complex for me.” So true!

  5. CS says:

    ABSOLUTELY beautiful shots!!!! Thanks for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

