Who’s Afraid of the Big, Bad Wind?

Fall weather in the North Cape is a little unpredictable.  Yesterday and today, gale force winds have whipped against our walls, and blasted the windowpanes with sheets of rain.  I’m not used to these violent gusts that make the roof creak and  shake.  I cringe each time one of them comes rumbling up the hill to smack into our home.  Am I afraid of the big, bad wind?  YES!  (But of course I don’t let my kids know it and I hope that one day I won’t flinch a bit when the big, bad wind comes huffing and puffing at our door.)

I’ve heard stories about the wind carrying boats up from the sea and into people’s lawns and lifting busses off the road.  Last winter when I went walking with my 2-year old, her stroller was blown off the ground. Thankfully, I had a good grip.

So on days like these, it helps to remember how it was just a few short days ago.  The weather was a little more to my liking.  It was windy, but not crazy-gale-force-winds-that-blow-boats-into-lawns-kind-of-windy.  A beautiful, bright coat of snow covered the ground and things felt a little more peaceful.

Birch trees with a winter coat

Morning sun on the snow-covered mountains

9 AM glimpse of the sun

As you can see, the sun isn’t very high up in the sky.  The countdown is on until the sun says goodbye for two months:  Only twelve days until the polar nights begin. Today the sun rose at 8:37 AM and set at 1:20 PM.

Honningsvåg harbor dusted with snow

So if you come to the North Cape in the Autumn, get ready for the big, bad wind, a mix of rain and snow, and a few hours of precious daylight.  Make sure you pack your rain clothes and galoshes, winter jacket and snow boots.  And you can leave your sunglasses at home.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Facts and Stories, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Who’s Afraid of the Big, Bad Wind?

  1. Iris says:

    I bet you just can’t wait for the storms we usually have from around christmas until february?

  2. sueedstrom2 says:

    Brrrrrr! sounds and looks COLD! Were you able to get the kids to daycare that day?

  3. Justin says:

    That looks beyond frigid. Great photographs, especially the close-up of the branch.

  4. bananabatman says:

    I have only visited Norway once, on business, and for only about 36 hours in Oslo. It was at the end of August and the weather was unseasonally hot. I found it beautiful but I have never yet managed to get back for a holiday. The North Cape sounds lovely, though perhaps not so much during autumn gales.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks for your comment. I appreciate it. Probably the best time to come to the North Cape is from July to September. In July, there is the midnight sun, and in early August you can watch the sunset and rise within an hour. Highly recommend it. Enjoy your travels and thanks for sharing your beautiful photos.

  5. Gunn Angelskår says:

    Thanks for sharing good pictures and your thoughts! Remember to have a really good look at the colours the weeks before the sun leaves, and when it comes back: its marvellous, you woun’t believe the intensity and some of the colours are really amazing. By the way: you say you hope that one day you won’t flinch a bit when the big, bad wind comes huffing and puffing at your door – but keep the respect! It’s enormous powers in the strong winds.
    I used to live i North Cape, and still miss parts of it. As it’s sung in one of the local songs from the scene at Christmas-time: if you’ve been infected with Magerøy-virus, theres simply no cure.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for your kind comment, Gunn. I appreciate it. I think we’ve been bitten by the Magerøya-virus already. We love it here. And the blue colors in the sky during the polar nights are amazing. But I’m still tired😉. And as for strong winds, when they blow busses off the road and boats into yards, there’s no doubting the power of nature. But I’m impressed by the locals who seem much tougher than me😉

  6. Pingback: A Year in the North Cape | experiencenorthcape

  7. Pingback: My Dream Job at 71Degrees North of the Equator | experiencenorthcape

Leave a Reply

