From the Potato State to the Edge of the Sea


Honningvåg Harbor in the summer

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve strolled along the harbor in Honninsvåg, and we haven’t even lived here a year yet.  Growing up in Idaho, where the ocean was a distant thought, my experience with seaside communities were few and far between.  Now I live in one and I’m intrigued by a lifestyle so far removed from world I knew in the famous potato state.

I admire the weathered fishermen who are as rugged as the seas they dare to sail.  I like breathing in the salty-fishy air and watching the wind gusts breeze across the bay.  And when I walk along the harbor, I take photos of things that most locals probably consider ordinary.  Just like when my Norwegian husband travels to the United States and wants to take a picture of a 50’s diner in the middle-of-nowhere Eastern Oregon.

So here’s a glimpse of the  Honningsvåg harbor from a land-lubber foreigner’s perspective.

Honningvåg Harbor

One of the piers in Honningvåg, Norway

Boat reflections, Honnignvåg Harbor

Walkway along the harbor

What kind of fish is this?

One thing’s for certain, you can’t find one of these in Idaho.

About ekhaugli

I'm Erica from America living at the top of the world - North Cape, Norway. I run my own gallery, Once Upon a Dream Gallery and Gift Shop, nestled in the picturesque fishing town, Honningsvåg. In 2014 I started and environmental art project, One Step at a Time, concentrating on removing trash from or arctic shoreline.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From the Potato State to the Edge of the Sea

  1. Kurt Alderman says:

    Wow! Stunning photos, that looks like a beautiful place to live! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: 25 Down, 25 Plus to Go! | experiencenorthcape

Leave a Reply

