Here Comes the Sun: Five days to Go!

Honningsvåg Harbor, January 17, 2012

As you can see by the photos I took today, the days are getting lighter.  Our two months of polar nights are almost over.  We had lovely weather today and the colorful houses and boats popped out from their snow-white backdrop.  Beautiful!

Honningsvåg Harbor, January 17, 2012

Honningsvåg, Nordkapp, Norway, January 17, 2012

About ekhaugli

A songwriter friend of ours came up with a catchy 80’s rock tune with the lyrics: “I’m Erica from America Living in Norway, just about nowhere.” It’s so catchy, I guarantee you’d sing it in the shower. But it’s not all together true because I don’t live “just about nowhere”, I live at the top of the world - Honningsvåg, North Cape, Norway!
This entry was posted in Northern Norway Tourist Attractions, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Here Comes the Sun: Five days to Go!

  1. What is the average temperature right now? Beautiful shots!

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thanks for asking. The average high in January is -1 C(30 F) and the low is -4 C (25 C). Since the gulf stream flows by us, it is not that cold, but when the strong winds come, then the wind chill factor is VERY cold.

  2. sueedstrom2 says:

    Clear, crisp and beautiful!

  3. anasolalderete says:

    Hi Erica! The first sun after the polar night in 2008 I was living in Bodø. I think it was the greatest joy of the year!! The same year I got my degree in fine arts, and nowadays I work for an argentinian university running two exhibition rooms, you can check it in some links of my blog.
    I have homesick of Norway, and hope being back there soon, and having the chance of visitng your gallery… So let’s keep in touch!! Congratulations for your blog, I discovered it when it was FP…

    • ekhaugli says:

      Yes, then you know how wonderful it is when the sun comes back. The light right now is amazing though. Norway to Argentina is a long jump. Are you from Argentina? I didn’t find your blog address… your comment just had your email address. I’d love to look at your blog so please give me the link when you get a chance. Looking forward to seeing the exhibition rooms and learn more about you. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment. I appreciate it!

      • anasolalderete says:

        Hi! I thought that was linked at my username, sorry!
        My blog is anasolalderete.wordpress.com, and you can see some pictures of one of the exhibition rooms in Cordoba (Argentina) in http://www.quehayenelsubsuelo.blogspot.com (is linked in my CV)….
        See you!

      • ekhaugli says:

        Thank you. Now I’ve had a chance to look at your website and look at the exhibition room. I really like your photography… the pictures have a dreamy feel to them. And it was fun to see from Norway and from Argentina and Chile. Looking forward to keeping touch via WordPress.

  4. Stevie D says:

    I rode up to Nordkapp on my bike about 10 years ago. I didn’t go to Honningsvag but stayed for a couple of days in Hammerfest. I was over a week without it going dark at all. Very strange. Beautiful area though.Herds of reindeer and no trees are what I recall most. Oh, and very expensive beer.

    • ekhaugli says:

      Thank you for taking time to check out my blog. I appreciate it. A motorcycle trip up to Nordkapp had to be quite a trip. The midnight sun is definitely an experience, and yes, reindeer, no trees and very expensive beer are all descriptive of this part of the world ;-) I think it’s great that you’re embarking on a new adventure and sounds like early retirement is opening new doors. Best of luck on your future travels. I’m following your blog to see where they take you!

      • Stevie D says:

        Many thanks Erica. I still have several friends in Norway and visit every few years. I don’t think I’ll be going back to 71North on the bike again though(getting soft in my old age).Your blog will have to suffice.

  5. Pingback: Swiftly Flow the Days | experiencenorthcape

Leave a Reply

